Diary of a Strong Mom: Days 10 & 11 & 12

There’s an 8 month post coming soon, but that requires more thought. So strong mom diary first.

Omg: sleep. It makes everything so much easier. Now that baby only wakes me up twice a night, I feel like a new woman. And being able to add regular exercise back into my life has me almost feeling like my old self.

Even though I haven’t lost any weight since January, just being able to move my body and feel my heart beating hard and breathing deep makes me feel so much better about myself. When I’m able to exercise, apparently I don’t give a fig about what I look like. I’m passing skinny girls on my runs and giving them thumb’s up and grinning like a maniac and only after do I briefly have a flash of do-they-assume-I’m-only-doing-this-to-lose-weight? But then it’s gone almost as soon as it arrives.

Versus just a few weeks ago, where even walking around in public I felt self conscious. Now I just feel badass.

Fingers crossed no one comes down with any awful illnesses and/or goes through any sleep regressions soon. I just need a few more weeks of this and then I feel like I’ll be able to handle anything thrown my way.

I ran on Tuesday. Since that’s my self-employed free-form day, I decided to indulge in a long run. So I ran my first 5k since easily last January (2016). It was slow, but not as slow as I’d expected. I just wanted to complete three miles, and I did. Not gonna lie, felt pretty awesome/sore after.

 

On Wednesday, I lifted. I didn’t have as much time because W-F are my strict 9am-6pm workdays, but I squeezed in a 5×3 heavy deadlift and a 5×5 set of ring rows. I wanted to throw in a quick crossfit-style workout, but alas. Besides, it’s okay to just keep chiseling at this instead of throwing myself in and getting too sore/too overwhelmed.

 

Another run this morning, this one shorter and faster. Also holy humidity, batman. Michigan has really ratcheted up its SUMMER levels this last week. Makes me (almost) wish I was in AZ. Then I see that it’s going to 115 there all next week and I’m okay with the humidity.

Leave a comment

Filed under defiant, fitness

Leave a Reply

