Diary of a Strong Mom: Days 6 & 7 & 8

Oof. I got started and almost immediately fell off the wagon again, didn’t I? I had… something, because I was exhausted most of last week despite getting sleep. On top of that, Dr Lady had hand, foot, and mouth disease, which not only stole her energy, but her ability to walk or use her hands for a few days. On top of that Lady Jr was going through some sort of leap, because she was super clingy and not okay with anything but being held. And she kept getting up at 5.30am. So like. Yeah.

On top of that, I have to finish edits on my novel so I can turn it in on July 1st and holy shit we’re a week into June already, so every available minute not holding baby (or otherwise interacting with her) has been spent working.

BUT THAT IS NO EXCUSE

I did manage to run twice in the last week (woo). And today I (finally!) lifted.

First:

Holy wow! Two of those times are under 11min, the first time I’ve managed that since before I gave birth. Progress, yass. And I could even tell while running that it was feeling easier. Those first two miles felt like a breeze.

Second:

Even better. I mostly look at the first two miles, because mile three is a half mile and I’m pretty much tuckered out and slowing down at that point in general. So I’ll take two more under 11/min miles.

And then today I lifted. No pics because I wanted to get in and get done and have time leftover to pump and drink water before getting back to work. But I did a crossfit-inspired workout. In fact, I modified it from a WOD posted by my old box (here).

For strength:
5 sets of 3 push press, working up to a 3 rep max. I topped out at 85#. I suspect I could have gone heavier, but since I’m just getting back into this I’m okay with 85#.

For completion (untimed):
5 rounds of
10 empty bar thrusters (45#)
6 ring-rows

Aaand now my arms are noodles.

Tomorrow I plan on going for another run. What can I say? I’m addicted to Zombies, Run!

I’m still trying to figure out how to make a schedule. Stay tuned while I experiment with morning runs soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under defiant, fitness

Leave a Reply

