Six Months!

april-9

Six months?? Six months!! She’s no longer a squish, that’s for sure. She is a ham and a delight and I know I’ve been saying that since January, but omgosh every week she’s so much hammier.

She had her 6 month check-up this week. We have a 13# 4oz baby, which is somewhere around the 5th percentile (they marked 13# 14oz on her sheet and said 15%, but like, I watched them weigh her and that was not 14oz – also she’d been 13# 2.5oz the week before when she went in for fever/cold/rash). I think they also marked her height wrong, because she dropped from 70% to 50%. Oh well. It doesn’t matter in the long run, but she is a looong skinny baby and it doesn’t look like that’s going to change any time soon.

Otherwise: ear infection cleared up on it’s own, cough is almost completely gone, basically in one of her rare, non-cold instances and feeling 99% healthy – so perfect time for shots! Yaay… boo. Our happy baby quickly became unhappy, but I think we’re through the worst of it.

Sleep

…ahahah.

Well. She’s doing a few 2 hour chunks each night, but she’s refusing to go back to sleep unless nursed, which I have only been reinforcing because a) she was sick and had an ear infection for a week or so and b) my wife was sick and needed as much sleep as she could get. But now we’re on the other side of both of those, so we’re committed to soothing and letting her cry and *not* feeding her back to sleep every 60-120min. She’s six months old. She absolutely does not need to eat 6+ times a night.

But even with just getting those 2 hour chunks most nights, I feel 100% better. More like my usual self. I’ve been able to start organizing the house and even think about cutting down on some of the clutter we’ve accumulated since we moved and some of the clutter we brought with us and really shouldn’t have. Time is still scarce, so we’ll see how much I can actually get done.

So. Sleep currently looks like this:
7pm bedtime
9pm wake up, feed
11pm wake up, feed
1am wake up, feed
2am wake up, try to soothe back to sleep, feed
3am wake up, try to soothe back to sleep, feed
4.30am wake up, wide-eyed and bushy-tailed. Feeding does nothing. Usually goes back to sleep after 30-45min
6.30-7am wake up for the day

Blrgh. Not ideal, but still so much better than it was. I’ve mostly accepted our lot. Problem is, there’s no room for a backslide. If she does any worse than that, my day is ruined. So we really need to work on this, I just… listening to her cry at 12am is difficult.

Anyway. Enough about sleep.

 

Solids

The doctor encouraged us to start solids, even though Lady Jr isn’t really showing any signs of readiness – she can’t sit up unassisted, she’s not very good at the pincer grasp, she’s uninterested in what we’re eating, etc. I thought that was weird, so we’re compromising by making food available, but not forcing baby to eat it. We’ve put avocado in front of her twice now and she mostly mushed it around, but once she stuck her avocado-covered fingers in her mouth, so… progress?

Idk, I think I need to do more research on baby-led weaning, since that’s the approach I want to take. Just… how much mashing, how much purees, how much gnawing? Idk.

 

Stroller

But my favorite part about six months is we’ve been cleared to go running together! I ordered a running stroller off of Amazon last week (the week before?) and we’ve been… getting used to it while just walking. Man, strollers are such a different experience from baby-wearing. For one, she’s so far away. For another, I can’t feel her falling asleep or getting upset. There’s a little flap on top of the stroller cover to peer in, but I can’t see her face, so I still have to stop and go around to check on her.

She’s been… less than thrilled so far. She’s gotten upset both times I’ve taken her out in it. I assume all I can really do is keep taking her out on short walks, but I miss having her snuggled up next to me. But, alas, can’t run with a baby carrier. And I want to run with her…

Any tips on how to make the stroller less of a scary experience for a baby? It might just be that both she and I need to adjust.

What else, what else…

 

Milestones

She grabs for anything and everything and can almost always get it. She’s started reaching, too – reaching for cups and faces and cats. She wants to touch the cats, which is new. She seems interested in them.

She can turn the pages of a board book. We’re 99% sure daycare taught her this neat trick.

She just started rolling belly to back (again), at least at night, while she’s half asleep. I don’t think she knows she can do this, yet.

High-pitched shrieking. Yeah. Not enjoyable.

Can occasionally sit unassisted for a few seconds before toppling over, vs immediately toppling.

Has started rolling over and sleeping on her belly at night. Usually this turns into a longer stretch of sleep than usual.

 

And now that you’ve made it through all of that, have some pics:

april-24

april-22

 

Daycare wanted a family pic, so…
april-17

11 Comments

Filed under gaybies, Lady Jr

11 responses to “Six Months!

  1. What a lovely family pic! One of my babies loved the stroller & hated being worn, the other was emphatically the opposite (& the 3rd I didn’t get until she was 4, so I don’t know about her early transportation preferences). Interestingly, those preferences (wear me/don’t wear me) have remained temperamentally consistent characteristics, even though those babies are now 17 & 22.

  2. They always measure height wrong for us too. Seems surprisingly hard/unreliable…

    If I can give you any unsolicited advice, don’t push the feeding solids. We pushed because we really needed her to gain weight and our ped told us to. I regret it. After doing waaaaaay too much research on intestinal linings, nutrition absorption, and inflammation, I would suggest you rely heavily on milk/formula until you feel like she’s really ready to eat solids. And you already know the right signs/signals. I think offering is fine, and if she goes for it, great, but there is absolutely nothing wrong with going 8-10 months (or even 12) before really working on eating food if baby is growing and healthy.

    Lastly, her smile is outrageously adorable. I can see the ham in her personality!

    • Yes! I did a lot of research on nutrition for adults back in the day and although that doesn’t translate well, I do have a very thorough appreciation for the importance of the gut and how food can affect it. My own gut reaction is to let her go at her own pace and I was actually pretty surprised the doctor was pushing for solids even though baby isn’t showing ready. I think they’re concerned about increasing iron needs, but I would be more concerned about an immature gut. :/
      I love our ped, but this isn’t the first time I’ve felt like her info isn’t quite up to date on recent research.

  3. Love that family picture. I can’t believe she’s 6 months already! I second what Caitlin said about food. You’ll know when she’s ready. No need to force it. Your gut instinct is probably right.

    • Thanks for the vote of confidence. I think I’ll just keep offering and not forcing it on her, then. Honestly still surprised the ped wants us to give her solids even though the only indicator right now is her age, which we all know isn’t a very good indicator.

      • I think that’s exactly what I’d do. Keep offering things like avocado or sweet potato spears, but don’t make it a thing. That stage was great for us because it gave her something to do in her high chair while we sat down and ate dinner together.

  4. Ladibug21

    She is just cute cute cute!
    My son really didn’t truly eat solids until he was about 18 months. Before that it was mostly experimentation and mostly playing with food. He just wanted breast milk more than anything. (Obviously we still offered him solids many times a day!)

  5. Amy

    SOOO CUTE!!! She’s just perfect. And beautiful family. Sorry about the sleep still kind of sucking. I hope it gets better rather than worse. We’re still struggling with sleep but only because I can’t stay on the bandwagon. I give up and change tactics all the time.
    About baby-led weaning, we kind of let Avery dictate things, so we started with making purees, and she wanted to grab them off the spoon and shove them in her own mouth. So we made chunky yet goopy things like oatmeal for her to feed herself without the chocking fears. Now she eats whole spears of steamed broccoli. All babies get interested in food at different times so don’t feel pressured that she should be more interested. Have fun with the food when she’s ready!

  6. I don’t have advice, being pre-baby, but i still enjoy reading and wondering which way my own baby will trend. And obviously you’re the one who know her best I’m sure you’ll work out the food on a schedule appropriate to your needs and she’ll be just fine! Wonderful family pic!!!

Leave a Reply

