Sleep Training: Night 3

Two steps forward, one step back. At least I was expecting things to regress a little. And they certainly did.

Goal for this night: 3 hours between feeds. Try to let her cry for 3min at a time. Usually I stuck to this, but sometimes she just sounded so distressed that I soothed her a little sooner. Middle of the night wake-ups are hard y’all.

Other notes: cry usually means I’m letting her cry those 3min, unless stated otherwise.

5:45pm – Last feed
6:45pm – In crib. Put her down wide-eyed, gave her her nuk, kissed her forehead, and left. She rolled onto her side and that was that. Not a single peep.
(8:00pm – Bedtime for me.)
9.10pm – Cry, feed right away. Back to sleep pretty easily.
11:30pm – Cry, fuss, cry, soothe, cry, soothe – repeat until 12am, when I gave in and fed her. She finally fell back asleep around 12.20am.
2:30am – Cry, fuss, cry, soothe, cry. I tried giving her her nuk but she kept spitting it out. I gave in and fed her even though it hadn’t quite been 3 hours because she seemed hungry. She was hungry. Okay, good call. Fell asleep easily on the boob and stayed asleep
3:30am – Cry, soothe, cry, nuk, and settled back to sleep.
4:30am – Cry, farts, soothe, cry, and loud poop. Changed her and tried to soothe her back to sleep, but she was having none of it, so I fed her.
(5:00am – Get up. Coffee. Write)
7:18am – Wake up for the day.

The first half of the night was fine, but the second half we returned to our old patterns. I’m not too concerned, though, because a) it’s normal for there to be some regression and b) obviously she was uncomfortable and had to poop.

I don’t know if it’s related or not, but she also slept 1.5 hours at daycare for the first time, ever. The longest she’d slept there before was 1 hour, and that was when she was sick with a cold.

Here’s to (hopefully) a better night tonight. But just in case, I’ll be going to bed early again.

1 Comment

Filed under gaybies

One response to “Sleep Training: Night 3

  1. Gina

    I’m excited for you. I see progress, and I’m really glad you’re able to recognize it too. You’re doing awesome, your littlest love is doing awesome. I find myself nodding in agreement to many of your thoughts and feelings…

    Sleep teaching (whatever that means for you, because I think we can all agree that this is a deeply personal decision and undertaking) was something I didn’t picture myself doing. I pictured the full-on Ferber method because that is all I knew. When it became evident that our first was going to need help learning how to get the rest he so desperately needed, I discovered the book “healthy sleep habits, happy child”. It didn’t help me with tips for sleep teaching, in as much as it helped me understand his sleep needs and how long to let him go in between attempts to lay him down. Our own version of sleep teaching was born out of that and we did it with all three of our babies. It did change our lives, for the better, and we saw a transformation in our babes.

    I’m remembering all of this, through your entries and it makes me oddly nostalgic for those sacred times. They were hard and I was exhausted but we were doing good work, and that made me happy.

    take care, sweet friends.

Leave a Reply

