My New Life

Maternity leave is officially over, but I don’t go back to work until Wednesday. I negotiated (see: asked for) a three day work week and got it, no strings attached. Just the vague, unspoken agreement that someday, I’ll go back to full time.

I doubt that day will come.

I guess I’ll still be working full time, just not at that one job. My parents pack up and leave town today, ending their two and a half months of helping out and watching the baby. I’m excited because this means I can finally see how writing with a baby will work. I’m also worried because it’s going to be just me and the baby for two days a week. Alone.

I’m sure it’ll be fine, but this will be the first time I’m truly on my own for long stretches with the baby. Before, someone would usually eventually show up so I could pee/eat/brush my teeth. Now I have to figure out how to do all that on my own. I had worried about this more a month ago, but Lady Jr has become a lot easier to handle in the past few weeks. And now I think it’ll be doable. But still. The worry lingers.

Anyway. Now that my parents are gone and I’m back to work, my new life really begins. Two days a week alone with baby, three days a week working with baby at daycare and then weekends. Between all of that, I also have to write (and edit) 100,000 words by May.

Daunting, but doable.

Is it weird that I’m just really excited to finally get into a new routine?

3 Comments

Filed under gaybies, goals

3 responses to “My New Life

  1. Two things I wish someone had told me early on:
    1) it won’t hurt the baby to lie on the floor (and cry if applicable) while you pee, brush your teeth, eat, take out the trash, etc.
    2) you can wear the baby and pee at the same time. Seriously, I think it took me four months to figure this out.

  2. Amy

    Not weird at all! For the first 4 months of my baby’s life I didn’t feel like I was managing life outside of caring for the baby. When I started back to school and work last week I only JUST started to feel excited about it, but it is a good feeling to get into a routine where you feel you are balancing work and baby. Good luck!

  3. I always rush to get to the routine too. I hate limbo. I think you’ll be really exhausted at the end of your 2 days alone with le bebe, but you’ll also really value those days!

Leave a Reply

