10 Weeks

december-74

Those cheeks! I could just eat them up. Sometimes I try, but usually someone is quick about getting the baby away before I make any lasting damage.

10 weeks! I can’t even. Yes I can. It feels like ten months and ten days all at once.

First, Lady Jr:

This week was quite a bit of a roller coaster. Again. Lady Jr was happy and smiling and waking only twice a “night.” She was lifting her head and occasionally doing tummy time without a cry. She was babbling and happy to sit in the high chair in the kitchen with us and she was even content going into the ring sling, instead of her usual wtf squirmery.

Then she had her 2 month appointment and her first round of vaccines. And I am the very, very last person to be all like woe, vaccines, but holy shit. I get why people are so concerned about them now. The actual act of getting her vaccines wasn’t too bad. She drank her rotovirus down like it was milk. Then the nurse jabbed her in the thigh with a needle and she just opened her mouth and turned purple. By the time the last jab was done, she had finally found her voice and let us know that that was not okay. I picked her up, she calmed down immediately. Nursed and by the time she was done, she’d forgotten about the whole thing. She slept well the rest of the day and night and the next day, although she felt a bit warm to me.

It was quiet and kind of nice and  I thought, this isn’t so bad.

Then she started fussing. All day Saturday. Saturday night she woke up every two hours, hour and a half. She fussed all day Sunday. We left her with mom and dad to run to Target and apparently she screamed the entire time. She woke every three hours that night, not as bad, but then she had a hard time falling back asleep. She fussed all day Monday. We couldn’t get her to nap.

By the end of the day we were at our wits’ end. I had her in the dark bedroom, rocking and swaying and singing and patting to no avail, just more screams. It had been well over an hour of screaming. I gave up. I had her against my chest and I let her just sort of fall down until she slipped into the crook of my arm. She stopped screaming. I stared at her and watched her fall asleep. When she woke up again later, I suggested to Lady we just let her be and turn on some white noise. She fell asleep again.

She’s done that three times since. She won’t abide any sort of comforting, only letting her be in our arms or on her back on the couch. I’m kind of weirded out by this. She used to need so much motion and comfort to fall asleep and now… wtf.

Anyway.

Here’s hoping this means we can soon just put her down in her crib when she’s drowsy, like all the advice says. Fingers crossed.

But she’s now 10# 9oz and 23.25 inches, meaning she is skinny and looong. Thankfully it looks like her cheeks are starting to fill out and since the doctor’s visit, I’ve noticed her chest filling out more, too. So she must’ve just been in the lengthening phase of a growth spurt.

 

Speck

It’s been a hard week with little sleep and lots of crying (both me and baby). It got real cold and I tried to go for a walk and almost slipped on ice four times, so I stayed inside for most of the week. Not good for my brain, that. :<

But at the same time, it’s been an awesome one. I got to announce my book deal and babble back at my baby and make it to 1/3rd of the way through my first draft. I reconnected with work and brought up the fact that I’d be returning part time and they were like, “cool.”

I’m still avoiding dairy and wheat and therefore am pretty much just eating paleo. I’ve already noticed a difference in my energy levels (smoother) and my overall body (less bloat). It’s nice to be back to eating mostly vegetables and meat again after being averse to both during pregnancy. Now I just need to get back onto the workout wagon, but uuugh it’s hard when there’s a baby, I totally get it.

Sleeping in the bedroom is still A+++, even on the shittiest nights.

 

Lady

The fuss has been hard for her, too, especially because it’s usually at its worst in the evenings. She’s got awesome snow boots now and yaktrax to boot (see??), so no more excuses for walks.

I asked her how her week was and she said she’d get back to me, so we’ll see. 🙂

 

More pics!

 

december-82

5 Comments

Filed under gaybies

5 responses to “10 Weeks

  1. AndiePants

    OMG! Lady Jr. Is starting to really look like a baby instead of a human larva! So cute! Vaccines are tough. We’ve had some that really impacted Ansel, others that didn’t. I hope all resolves soon!

  2. Amy

    I totally get it when you say it feels like ten months and ten days all at once.
    And 2 month vaccines were hard for us too and made me wish there could be immunizations that are easier on their little systems, or that they don’t have to get so many at the same time.
    I love the little expressions she makes in all your pictures!! So precious.

  3. Vaccines are so rough. We resorted to Tylenol both times. 6 month visit is coming up and I dread it soooo much. Lady Jr. is adorable. Love her bright eyes and chubby cheeks!

  4. Ahhh, so is SO CUTE. She has such bright eyes.

    For us, the first round of vaccines was hardest, at least in terms of the after-effects – the subsequent vaccines didn’t cause her a lot of discomfort afterward. The watching them get jabbed part doesn’t really get better…

  5. Oh my friend… she is such a precious little love. The exhaustion is killer. I know. And I totally remember that stage when Charlotte was a total beast all evening after Catch got home and she was so frustrated because she never got to spend any “nice” time with the baby. We used to tell everyone that 6 o’clock was the witching hour and they would laugh at us like we were being dramatic, but it was so true! It’s a phase that will pass in time, but that doesn’t make it any easier in the moment. Hang in there. ❤

Leave a Reply

