The Thing I’ve Been Hinting At

Two and a half years ago I started writing a book. I wrote and then rewrote and then edited and then re-edited it much I had several others before.

One and a half years ago I signed with an agent based on that book.

Six months ago I heard an editor was looking to get a second read.

Three months ago I heard the editor was taking the book before their editorial board to see if she could get approval for an offer.

Two months ago – literally a week after giving birth – I heard the editor was taking the book to marketing – the last hurdle.

Then things started happening quickly. Could I write two more books? What would that look like? I talked on the phone with the editor and my agent and laid out my thoughts, my plan. That evening I heard from my agent – we had an offer.

Three agonizing days later I got details. One agonizing week later, my agent officially accepted the offer. Lots more back and forth, then silence as we all waited for the slow gears of publishing to churn out the official word. But. But!

It’s officially official. From Publisher’s Weekly:

Tor Takes Debut Fantasy Trilogy by Doore

Diana Pho, an editor at Tor, acquired world rights for K.A. Doore’s debut fantasy trilogy, Assassins of Ghadid, in a deal brokered by Kurestin Armada of P.S. Literary. According to Armada, the trilogy centers on a desert city “where control over water means control over both life and magic itself.” Pho added that Doore’s work draws on “the cultures of sub-Saharan Africa and ancient Egypt” as well as queer romance. The publisher expects to begin publishing the books in winter 2019.

The fun! part is that the book they have, the one that’s done, is going to be the second book in the trilogy. Which means I have a whole ‘nother book to write ASAP, which is what I’ve been trying to do while juggling a newborn and postpartum recovery. Let me just be the first to say that it’s not easy. But anything worth doing, especially a dream I’ve had and worked towards for such a long time, is going to be hard.

So whew, phew, and yay! I can finally talk about this.

13 Comments

Filed under books, gaybies, goals, writing

13 responses to “The Thing I’ve Been Hinting At

  1. Congratulations! So happy for you. You worked REALLY hard for this~.

  2. Oh that is SO SO cool! Mazel tov! I can’t wait to read them.

  3. AndiePants

    OMG OMG OMG!! That’s so amazing! Congrats!!!

  4. That’s amazing, congratulations!

  5. This is so freaking amazing! Omg I am so crazy happy for you! Look at all your dreams coming true! ❤️❤️❤️

  6. That’s incredible! Congratulations!!!!!!!

  7. Amy

    Amazing!! Congratulations!

  8. Congratulations! I’m a big fantasy/sci fi reader, can’t wait to read your trilogy 😀

  9. That’s so amazing! Congratulations! You so deserve this!!’

  10. This is incredible! I have been wondering what happened to the book! Congratulations!

  11. Awesome awesome awesome!!!! So want to read. Happy to beta if you need one! AND even more happy to buy a copy.

Leave a Reply

