Four Weeks Old

november-39

 

Lady Jr: She’s gone through a lot of changes this week. She went from being awake and content and occasionally fussy and sleeping like a pro to almost always fussy while awake and taking a good solid hour of rocking and white noise and other tricks to get her to fall asleep. That coupled with a return to 2-3 hour feeding windows has made it hard on all of us.

That said, her neck control is improving almost daily. We went for a walk yesterday and she kept her head up for a good solid 15 minutes.

She’s officially out of newborn clothes and into 0-3. We’re not even bothering trying to fit any of the newborn outfits anymore because it’s just not worth it. Plus, we’ve got a ton more in 0-3 anyway.

As you can tell in the photo, she did her civic duty this morning. The poll peeps were delighted with her and I think we might have won for the youngest person at the polls. I’m just glad the line was relatively short and quick so she didn’t have time to wake up and fuss.

You can also tell that she has a bad case of baby acne. I’ve been using milk to treat it, but it’s like spraying for ants – they just keep coming back. Oh well. They’re not hurting her.

 

Speck: Oof. The 2-3 hour feeds are rough, especially when coupled with all the fussing and little sleep. I’ve been having a tough time of it and perhaps leaning a little too heavily on caffeine.

But the ergo carrier is still magical. I’m wearing Lady Jr right now, bouncing her at my stand-up desk as I write this. She just needs to sleep a liiittle longer (please please please).

I feel almost fully recovered from labor. Most everything is back in order and I’ve gone on multiple 3+ mile walks. I think I can probably segue back into more strenuous exercise, although I might have to do it behind my mother’s back. She doesn’t think I should be running until after six weeks, but I’m itching to run so bad. So if I get the chance I will, but we’ll just have to see. A certain someone has taken to waking up at 7 and staying awake, so.

I’m trying to participate in National Novel Writing Month this year, but it’s harder to find the time to write than I expected. If I could write without hands or even one hand, it would be a lot easier, but alas. So it often comes down to a choice between sleeping and writing, and well. :/

 

Dr LadyStill having difficulty balancing work and baby. She’s mostly gone down to half days at work for now and therefore going in later in the day, which has made mornings infinitely easier, but it’s still hard to find the time to bond with baby, get sufficient sleep, and get science done. Oh, and eat and shower, but we all know that’s not as important. 🙂

Her mother and aunt visited this weekend and while I love them to bits, holy wow do I understand now why people limit visits. It’s one thing having my mom and dad here, because their sole purpose is to make us food and hold the baby so we can eat/nap, but having someone here to just see us and the baby is a bit more difficult.

For better or worse, life revolves around Lady Jr right now, and visitors are an intrusion on that. Unless they, too, can briefly make their lives revolve around her, but that’s harder for someone coming into the mix. I get it. But when we only have so much awake time to take care of ourselves, it’s hard to be social. And if I don’t get my nap in the small window of time I can take it, it makes me cranky and resentful. :/

Let’s just say I am 100% glad I insisted we stay home for these first three months. I can’t imagine how tiring and disruptive travel would be right now.

 

2 Comments

Filed under gaybies, Lady Jr

2 responses to “Four Weeks Old

  1. Those big eyes! She’s so small but having those eyes so open and alert she looks very wise! Good to hear you’re able to get into exercising and writing, in whatever capacity it might be

  2. She looks very alert and sweet! We fought the baby acne too. It passes in a few weeks. Glad you’re getting out for some exercise!!!

Leave a Reply

