Week 39: Will She, Won’t She

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +??
Shoe Size: 10 11
Bra Size: 34A  38C

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12 10
Con: 19
Int: 12 11
Wis: 14 13
Cha: 18 16

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, Greater Braxton Hicks

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str), wth mornings (-2 con), Anxiety (-1 Wis), Awkward Maneuvering (-2 Dex), Pregnancy Brain (-1 Int), Impatient (-2 Cha)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 11
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16 15
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus, Project Queen

Diseases/Curses: Recovering from Tendonsis (-1 Str), Ingrown Toenail (-2 Dex), Anxiety (-1 Wis)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 19.96″ crown to heel
Weight: 7.25 lb

Str: 7
Dex: 6
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick, Roll, Squirm
Diseases/Curses: Hiccups

I don’t know who at Ovia is sniffing glue, but according to them Lady Jr is the size of a house cat, variety American Shorthair. Yeah:

 

 

No.

 

Overall: On the one hand, I know that it’s substantially more likely that Lady Jr will come after 40 weeks. On the other hand I’m 39 weeks and IT IS A THING THAT COULD HAPPEN.

I 100% understand why people start going a tad bit crazy towards the end of pregnancy.

That said, I feel fine. We’ve been ready for this baby since 36 weeks and now I’m checking my watch and wondering if she’ll be on time or fashionably late. I’m still working. I’m still mowing the lawn and doing the dishes and acting like a normal human being.

I’m also in a weird bit of denial. It’s hard to believe there is a legit baby in me and even harder to believe that baby will be coming out. She even wiggles and moves and stretches and I’m still like “…yup…weird stomach doing weird things.”

 

Pre-Labor Bingo:

So far we’ve got:

  • Nigh constant Braxton Hicks.
  • Occasional mild, period-like cramps.
  • Lots of mucus.
  • Increased pressure in my pelvis.
  • Lower back ache.
  • Overall feeling like I’m going to start my period tomorrow.

 

Preparations for Lady Jr: We swung by and officially put our name on the waitlist for childcare this morning. On the one hand, I’m relieved to know we’ll have a place for her that’s nearby and pretty awesome. On the other hand, it breaks my heart a little that we have to do all this in the first place. I’m a little (see: a lot) jealous of other countries where mothers get at least six months off, but I can’t even think about asking for that in a country where three months is seen as generous and I haven’t even been with this company over a year. That’s a whole ‘nother rant though.

We also hit up Costco this weekend, stocked up on basic supplies (toilet paper, soap, etc), and froze some breakfast sandwiches. We went searching for a ring carrier at the second hand stores in our area and, when we found nothing, ended up ordering one online. And we went for a lot of loooong walks. Sun out, sixty degrees – it was lovely.

 

Exercise: Walking. Cleaning. A little bit of lifting – if you can call throwing an empty barbell around lifting. I’ve been doing more kettlebell swings to help keep my hips strong. I’ve also continued air squats when I remember and just keep stretching when I have breaks. The change in weather has been absolute bliss, because I can finally go outside and feel comfortable and not get eaten by a swarm of mosquitoes, so I’ve been taking a number of smaller walks throughout the day.

 

Appointments: One last Thursday.

Cool Story Bro time: Omg my wife. So, I got my GBS results back and I’m negative (yaaay), but Dr Lady was a little disappointed. She admitted to me (and the doc) that if I had been positive, she would have asked for a culture to try and grow in the lab. The doc kind of looked at her for a moment, then promised that – one scientist to another – if she (the doc – who also happens to be pregnant) turns out to be positive for GBS, she will totally call Dr Lady up and offer her a culture. Which made Dr Lady’s day. And that’s the story of how my wife and my OB are the bestest buds now.

Otherwise everything is still measuring fine. I have another appointment this Thursday, then one next Wednesday if Lady Jr hasn’t made her exit by then. I’m starting to think she won’t.

 

Dr Lady: Antsy to meet Lady Jr. Getting into that anxious it-could-be-any-time phase, which is difficult in the lab because most of her experiments are two-dayers, so she has to be able to plan ahead. She’s also super excited about taking two weeks off and spending it with just me and Lady Jr.

 

Progress Photo:

39 Weeks

9 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

9 responses to “Week 39: Will She, Won’t She

  1. AmyApplesnail

    Congrats on being GNS negative! If you are still cutting the lawn I have a feeling you will have a quick and easy labour 😉
    You look great! Love the pumpkin photo!

  2. Seriously impressed that you’re still mowing the lawn! Mad props!

  3. You look amazing! I remember this week was so hard. Wanting to meet the baby yet wanting to relish your final pre-baby days. Enjoy it!

  4. oc15

    I am so excited! I am sharing your same anxious anticipation 🙂 good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

