Week 37: It’s Getting Cramped in Here

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +??
Shoe Size: 10 11
Bra Size: 34A  38C

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12 10
Con: 19 17
Int: 12 11
Wis: 14 13
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, Greater Braxton Hicks

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str), wth mornings (-2 con), Anxiety (-1 Wis), Awkward Maneuvering (-2 Dex), Bad Sleep (-1 Cha), Pregnancy Brain (-1 Int)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 11
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16 15
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus, Project Queen

Diseases/Curses: Too Much To Do, Recovering from Tendonsis (-1 Str), Ingrown Toenail (-1 Dex), Anxiety (-1 Wis)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 19.13″ crown to heel
Weight: 6.30 lb

Str: 7
Dex: 6
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick, Roll, Squirm
Diseases/Curses: Hiccups

Lady Jr is pretty much set to go, it’d just be nice if she stayed put and gained a few more ounces. I hope she does!

This week, she is apparently the size of a skunk, a few of which I’ve seen tottering around our yard during the evening and definitely smelled at night:

 

Overall: Honestly, things are going pretty well. I’m uncomfortable, but that’s to be expected. I’m frustrated with my inability to do basic things – like walk long distances, pick up awkward objects, and garden – but I can still keep up with the cats and my wife and work. I’m learning to work with and around the discomfort, although it’s hard to remember to be kind and gentle with myself.

We went apple picking this weekend as a mini baby moon. I want to do more to get out of the house in the coming weeks, especially as it’s finally cooling down. I can’t help but be sad that I wasn’t able to reach out and make friends before the inevitable baby coccooning happened, but between moving and getting set up and working full time, I honestly don’t know how I could have made that happen. But now it’s autumn and apparently we’re going to mimic the seasons and start slowing down and turning inwards. Hopefully, come spring we’ll be ready to blossom and begin anew.

Work is exciting. Betas on the two big projects are due end of this week, the complete projects are due end of next week. These looming deadlines are the only reason I sometimes expect Lady Jr might come early, hah. Or maybe it will be right afterwards, when I can finally breathe and relax. Or maybe my original prediction of 4 days past her due date, or maybe Oct 16th which is the next full moon – who knows??

 

Fun(!) New Symptoms: Severe hip pain from sleeping. It sucks. It also makes me not want to go to bed, ever. I have a pregnancy pillow that goes between my knees, but it doesn’t always stay there. I am a wiggly sleeper, apparently. I also cannot wait to be able to sleep on my back again. Just 0-5 more weeks!

Hemorrhoids. They’re not severe in the least, but long walks = major discomfort. Suffice to say, I do not appreciate one of my few remaining Fun Activities being severely truncated.

Related: more pressure in my pelvis and everything in that area in general. My bladder is somehow even more squished than it was.

 

Preparations for Lady Jr: We re-arranged all the furniture in the bedroom so that now it makes a little more sense and the crib fits comfortably in a side-car position. We still need to attach the crib to the bed so that it can’t be pushed away – which is very necessary because I’m already doing that on my own, lol – but otherwise we’re set.

We made the final Amazon baby registry purchase, grabbing all of the completion discount we could and the items we think will be Necessary and/or Very Useful. Mostly this is a disparate jumble of odds n’ ends, like a mirror for the car, a changing pad cover, a big-ass water bottle (for me), baby nail clippers, a diaper pail liner, snappis, and a portable changing pad. We are so Ready.

 

Exercise: So much walking. We did an hour-long pokewalk with some of Dr Lady’s science acquaintances on Thursday and we went apple picking on Sunday and I’ve been going for 15-20min walks throughout the day during the work week. I’ve also been doing air squats and stretches whenever I’m stuck in a boring meeting for work and have hit the garage gym for a more “normal” workout.

 

Appointments: One last Thursday. Everything checks out, still normal for growth, still normal heartbeat. I mentioned the shiite ton of BH I’ve been having and the OB wasn’t concerned. OB also doesn’t do cervix checks, which I find somewhat calming. I’ve read too many stories about women who weren’t at all dilated going into labor the next day and women at 2-3cm who stayed that way for weeks, so I prefer not to know either way.

Appointments are weekly now, so I have another one this Thursday.

 

Dr Lady: Manic. Nesting. Adorable as all get-out. She was the one who insisted we get the last few baby things we (probably) need and then get out of the house. She also spent Sunday morning landscaping the yard, something I kept trying to help with but I just. can’t. bend like that. anymore.

She’s easily walking as far as I am these days. She still has an ingrown toenail, but now she has a dr’s appointment to get that checked out this week. Her other foot continues to improve, I just can’t challenge her anymore.

Lab is a bit hard for her, since she will be working up until Lady Jr makes her debut, whenever that is. Since she has to plan experiments and set things up that can take several days to several weeks to complete, it’s a little stressful for her not knowing *when*.

 

Progress Photo:

37 Weeks

5 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

5 responses to “Week 37: It’s Getting Cramped in Here

  1. How is this already happening? Hoping you both can feel as “prepared” as possible and check those last things off of your lists (like those pesky work projects!)

  2. I figured Mabel would arrive once I finished all my work and my body naturally relaxed. And viola, 2 days after I wrapped up my work duties, I started labor. I think this is why a lot of women start labor at night. Our bodies wait until we’re relaxed and feel safe to start the process.

  3. AmyApplesnail

    You look so great, and happy! I am sooo excited for you! I remember being really excited to be able to sleep on my back again, and then a week into the post-partum period I hadn’t really had the opportunity to sleep on my back… I was excited to just sleep… Even if I don’t sleep long enough to appreciate sleeping on my back, it still feels nice to lie down on your back, as briefly as it may be :p

    I hope labour holds off until your deadlines are passed 🙂

    • Hah, that’s fair. Yeah I guess I should specify I’m also really glad to just lie on my back in general for more than 30sec at a time.
      I half suspect that I will go into labor as soon as they pass just out of sheer relief, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

