All the Braxton Hicks

Seriously. All of them. I don’t think any are left for anyone else.

I’m not too worried (yet), but I could do with some breaks. I don’t usually get them at night or later in the day, which is why I suspect they’re more from dehydration. Lol, if you can call it that – I already drink twice as much water as I did before. But I do get them for hours on end, sometimes one right after another, sometimes one that never really stops.

The internet seems to be strictly divided on what this means. Half thinks I should call the nurse if I have more than 6 in an hour – which makes me wonder if the hour-long ones count. Half thinks that I should just lie down and drink more water and chill. Since doing so does seem to help, I’ve been leaning in that direction.

Anybody else have something similar? Since I have 2 big projects due at the end of September, I can’t help but wonder if I’m even going to make it that far. Oh well – if not, I’ve tried to warn work multiple times. We’ll just see.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “All the Braxton Hicks

  1. I had them frequently starting at about 24 weeks. Often I could get them to stop by lying down, but sometimes they would just keep rolling. I did deliver at 35+4, so I’m not sure this data will help you. I do think it’s a good idea to have your doctor check your cervix to see if it’s dialating, but even if it is, that doesn’t mean a whole lot – it can open slowly for weeks.

    I would have your hospital bag packed and as many of your ducks in a row as possibly…coming from someone who was COMPLETELY unprepared at home and at work…

    • They started at 30 weeks for me and have just gotten worse/more frequent each week. I really hope I don’t deliver before 38 weeks, but I’ve had an increasingly stronger gut feeling that I might not make it to October. We’re grabbing the last things for the hospital bag this weekend and I keep hinting at work, but we’ll see.

      • LISTEN to that gut feeling. I had the same thing and never imagined that it meant I would deliver as early as I did! You’re already in a really good place developmentally, so don’t fret too much, but prepare yourself mentally and logistically that baby could come soon. I wish I had listened more carefully to my gut!!

  2. I have this! All the time! Turns out I have polyhydramnios (excess amniotic fluid). Normal levels are between 2cm – 25cm. Mine are 34cm. The extra fluid is causing “uterine irritations”. I went to L&D for the contractions and they show up on the monitor. They said they are more painful and constant than BHs but they are not labor contractions because they don’t change your cervix. I’m glad I found out what is causing mine because I was the same boat as you! Hope you feel better soon!

    • Wow, never knew one could have excessive amniotic fluid – only too little. Huh, I don’t fit the rest of the symptoms but maybe I should call my OB nurse…

      • I don’t have GD or any abnormalities that would predispose me to it. I just had the constant contractions and my belly was measuring ahead so they checked at 34 weeks and found it out.

  3. I’d call and see what they think, can’t hurt. I’ll bet $1 that you’ll deliver in the next couple weeks šŸ™‚

  4. AmyApplesnail

    My Braxton Hicks sometimes lasted for an hour too after 30 weeks. It’s smart to be ready for an early delivery so you’re not caught off guard, but they could always just be Braxton Hicks and not doing anything to your cervix. Only getting checked will tell you, and only delivery will tell you when you will deliver! These are exciting times though, when you just never know!!

  5. One other note – knowing if baby might be coming early (dialating, contractions, etc) will give you a bigger window to get the steroid shots if your doctor recommends it. You don’t have to get them, but it can be the last little boost baby needs to be ready for the outside.

Leave a Reply

