Week 33: Getting Uncomfortable

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +??
Shoe Size: 10 10.5
Bra Size: 34A 36B 36C/38B

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12 10
Con: 19 17
Int: 12
Wis: 14 13
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, Braxton Hicks

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str), wth mornings (-2 con), Anxiety (-1 Wis), Awkward Maneuvering (-2 Dex)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 11
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus

Diseases/Curses: Too Much To Do, Recovering from Tendonsis (-1 Str), Ingrown Toenail (-1 Dex)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 17.20″ crown to heel
Weight: 4.23 lb

Str: 6
Dex: 5
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick, Roll
Diseases/Curses: Hiccups

Lady Jr has developed an immune system! She’s also getting better at opening her eyes when she’s awake and closing them to sleep. I guess she wasn’t doing this before?

Honestly, her main job for the next seven weeks is to grow as much as possible, and I can tell. I can absolutely believe there’s something the size of a ferret in there:

 

Overall: We’re slowly settling into the new house and the new state and Lady’s new job. It’s been a whirlwind of unpacking and visits and also a lot of time at home, alone, checking email (see: job) so I’ve been all over the map emotionally. As such, I can’t tell how much of the exhaustion and fatigue and sadness is just because I’ve been hit with a truck called Life and how much of it is hormones.

Whether or not it’s pregnancy related or recovery, I’m now 33 weeks and I’m turning 30 next week and I’ve decided that I’m allowed to be selfish for the next 4+ weeks and take care of myself. My motto is “little things help” so I went for a small walk and enjoyed the lovely weather and then I made myself french toast, took a hot shower, and put on a happy-smelling BPAL before work this morning.

Also I feel like I’ve done a 180 on baby prep and baby things. We are now looking at our stash and narrowing down what we need to get in the coming weeks. I’ve started researching hospital bags. Lady and I are talking a lot about what comes after, the first week and beyond. I am so big and it’s become very obvious to both of us that this is happening and it is happening Soon. 36 weeks and onwards seems to be the main labor window, so I want to be ready in case that happens to us. At the same time, I don’t want to be surprised/annoyed if we pass 41 weeks, so I’m still mentally prepping for October.

 

Fun(!) New Symptoms: Feeling exhausted just from sitting in a chair. Like, rolling, muscular exhaustion. It’s bizarre. Of course at the same time I’m waking up 2+ times a night to pee, or because I rolled onto my back (again) and feel nauseated. I’m caving and buying a pregnancy pillow after work today because my stomach hurts and my hips hurt and we only have so many pillows in the house.

My appetite has decreased substantially, in part because I simply can’t fit as much in my stomach. But when that first started, I’d just eat half of my meal, wait a while, and eat the second half. Now I just eat half and the other half becomes a completely separate meal. It’s probably okay because I’m sleeping more and moving less, but it’s weird.

HOT HANDS AND FEET. Ugh, this is awful. They’re feverishly hot and I have to be at 70 degrees or cooler to be comfortable. Of course this symptom decided to pop up right when we moved and had no a/c, so relief has been seldom. We got a portable a/c unit, but it only does so much (see: does not get the temp down below 70). Freezer packs have become my dear friends. But even a/c in stores and the doctor’s office has been insufficient: I was sweating by the end of all my appointments.

 

Things Acquired for Lady Jr: The freaking motherload of cloth diapers and a ton of cold-weather baby clothes from my sis-in-law (bless her). She lives in Minnesota, so I feel a lot more comfortable heading into our first Winter with Baby here in Michigan between her advice and clothes.

We also got a little bit of baby-storage-furniture to round out the nursery corner. The bedroom still has the most boxes so the nursery is nowhere near done, but it’s calming to see that she has her own space and is beginning to amass the things she needs.

 

Exercise: Little more this week. Some walking and some light lifting. More than 20min of walking now hurts my hips and tires me out, but if I rest for a little bit I can keep going. I ordered more lifting plates as a birthday present to myself so I’ll be back to deadlifting when those come in and I couldn’t be more excited. 🙂

 

Appointments: One last week that got me onto the new ob’s schedule. Everything’s still looking good, baby’s measuring right on target, and I left with a breast bump prescription. I had to google what to do with it, because I’m 100% sure I can’t just drop it off at Target. I still need to call my insurance and see what their policy is. We’re in a weird position where we’re going to be switching to new insurance in the next month and resetting our deductible, so if I can get the prescription filled now, that would be best. But, we’ll see.

Next appointment is for 34 weeks, the day after my birthday. Woo.

 

Dr Lady: Overwhelmed as well. It’s hard starting a new job! Also a little bit full of trepidation after we spent the weekend with her sister and her husband and two small children. One four-year-old who was VERY EXCITED to see us and one toddler who was VERY EXCITED about the cats and then VERY DISTRAUGHT when she couldn’t catch them. There was a lot of screaming and crying and yelling and Lady and I were both left wondering if we could actually do this parenting thing by the end of it. o.o

 

Progress Photo:

august-159

9 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

9 responses to “Week 33: Getting Uncomfortable

  1. Don’t worry, the screaming/crying/yelling gradually builds over time so you get used to it 😉

  2. And, this might be weird, but we only live about 2 hrs apart and I have a total crap load of baby clothes and things if you want them. Ali was born in September so the seasons will mostly match up

  3. Your breast pump should be free, even if your deductible resets. It’s one of the new mandates from Obamacare. Some plans will send you one right away, others won’t send it until you’ve delivered. If you can get it now, do it, because we had to wait a week+ between baby delivery and pump delivery, and I had to rent a pump to get my supply up in between. Nor a huge deal, but any inconvenience becomes a giant pain in the ass once you have a newborn.

Leave a Reply

