Week 32: Eight Weeks Left?!

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +??
Shoe Size: 10 10.5
Bra Size: 34A 36B 36C/38B

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12
Con: 19 17
Int: 12
Wis: 14 13
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, Braxton Hicks

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str), General aches and pains (-1 Con), wth mornings (-2 con), bad sleep (-1 con), Anxiety (-1 Wis)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 10
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus

Diseases/Curses: Too Much To Do, Recovering from Tendonsis (-1 Str), Ingrown Toenail (-2 Dex)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 16.69″ crown to heel
Weight: 3.75 lb

Str: 6
Dex: 5
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick, Roll
Diseases/Curses: Hiccups

Lady Jr is growing. Honestly, that’s her only job right now. Apparently she also has finger- and toenails and could be growing real hair.

This week she’s the size of a pomelo or a naked tail armadillo (not to be confused with the kind of armadillo found in the South ’cause those cluckers are HUGE):

 

Overall: I am so glad we’re moved in, most of the boxes are unpacked, we have a portable a/c unit, we had help with all of the above, and now I can finally (FINALLY) focus on Lady Jr and what’s coming up in October. Because OMG it’s going to be so soon. I hopped on Amazon to update our registry (because family is asking) and saw the little “8 weeks left!” countdown and just – what. What. What. How when why what.

My new OB asked whether I had a birth plan yet, whether we had picked out a pediatrician, whether we had toured the hospital, and I was just like, no, no, nope! And here I was so proud of myself for getting an OB set up here as soon as I did. o.o But now I’m looking for a pediatrician and we have a reservation for a tour (at the end of September – hahahaha). All the birth classes are full until the end of September as well, so no point in wasting our time/money there. Oh well – that’s what youtube is for, right?

On the bright side, Lady Jr’s crib/nursery/corner is coming together. Now that we’re unpacking, I can finally see exactly what we have and next I’ll update our list of what we need. My sister-in-law is coming next weekend with all the newborn stuff she still has, so I’m going to wait until after that to really needle down, but yeah.

Some days I can’t believe we’ve made it this far with no problems. Some days I can’t believe how much time we have left.

 

Fun(!) New Symptoms: Actual, for real Braxton Hicks contractions started this week. They’re completely painless, just uncomfortable if I’m leaning forward when they start. My whole abdomen becomes a big ball of tightness, which weirded me out at first until I realized what it was.

Also heart burn has progressed to heart… leakage. It’s kind of nasty and I have to be super careful about eating too much or lying down after eating. If I eat half of what I usually do, it’s fine, but it’s hard to remember to stop that early when my stomach still feels the same size.

Last but not least: I am so weak and so easily winded. Walking is more than enough exercise. I don’t know how much of this is because of the move (see: no time for strength training or the gym) or just general progress in pregnancy. I’m going to make a habit of lifting – albeit much lighter – on my lunch breaks for the coming weeks. We’ll see how that goes.

 

Things Acquired for Lady Jr: An Amish gliding chair (bless you Craigslist) for nursing. Washer/dryer for diapers.

 

Exercise: Unpacking and running around like a ninny. That counts, right?

 

Appointments: One last week to meet my new doc and one this week so they can get me on their 32-34-36 week schedule. The doc measured my abdomen, i.e. Lady Jr, and they gave me a TDAP shot and doublechecked all of my vitals. So far, everything looks normal and low risk.

I learned more about the hospital I would be giving birth at and was warned that they are militantly pro-breastfeeding. Oy. As I’ve mentioned before (I think), I’m planning to breastfeed, but I also know that with PCOS and a history of severe depression, there is a real possibility I will have trouble and/or be unable to breastfeed, and therefore I would prefer a supportive environment over one where they will guilt and shame me when I’ll already be emotionally vulnerable. :/

 

Dr Lady: Hard to tell because she’s been sitting around at a conference all week and her toenail is acting up. Just about this time last year she dropped something heavy on her big toe, which eventually lost its toenail, and which had grown back quite fine up until a few weeks ago. Now it’s decided to start growing inward, so we need to find her a doctor, stat. Sigh, one of these days she won’t have foot problems.

But she started her new lab job this week and she’s getting very excited about meeting Lady Jr. She and mom apparently had a conversation last week about how in love she was already with Lady Jr. I guess getting kicked in the butt repeatedly helps with bonding. 🙂

(New!) Comments from Strangers: When we picked up the washer/dryer, the lady selling it to us asked when I was due, then whether it was a boy or girl. I never once mentioned that I was pregnant before that. I also got a long rambling monologue from a worker in a thrift store about how I needed to get a bigger chair than the one I was lounging in because I was only going to get bigger and baby needed room.

Progress Photo:

august -96

7 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

7 responses to “Week 32: Eight Weeks Left?!

  1. My birth plan consisted of one thing, get the baby out! And I never toured a hospital or picked out a pediatrician, I just went with the rounding ped after she was born. I like to be surprised I guess 😉

    • Oh good, because I didn’t even know you had to have a ped before hand. That was the first I’d heard of that and I was like what?? I don’t even have a general doc yet!

  2. AmyApplesnail

    YouTube has been just as helpful for me as any in person training I have received… Even for hypnobirthing – I got more out of the meditation videos on YouTube than I did out of the meditations I paid for… You’ll be fine getting mentally prepared in this world of technology!

  3. My birth class didn’t help me one bit. There was nothing I learned in that class that I didn’t learn online first! And the only birth plan I had was in my head: get the baby out safely. You’re gonna rock it no matter what happens. The nurses will guide you.

  4. The militant breastfeeding hospital… Ugh. Don’t let them push you around. Or probably the better advice of having your partner fight them off if they are too pushy. Chances are post-birth hormones will already drive you into tears and pushy people will make it worse.

Leave a Reply

