Week 26: Farewell Second Trimester

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +??
Shoe Size: 10 10.5
Bra Size: 34A 36B 36C/38B

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12
Con: 19 17
Int: 12
Wis: 14
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, No Shits Given, Morning Mania

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str),  General aches and pains (-2 Con)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 14
Dex: 12 11
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus

Diseases/Curses: Too Much To Do, Acute Tendonsis (-1 Dex, -3 Str)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 14.02″ crown to heel
Weight: 1.68 lb

Str: 3
Dex: 5
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick, Roll
Diseases/Curses: Hiccups

Lady Jr can open her eyes! That’s a little creepy. What is she looking at in there? o.o

Although the animal comparisons are increasingly meaningless (she’s not so much growing in length as she is in weight these days), considering the above, the slow loris is quite apt this week:

 

 

 

Overall: It’s July! Holy shit! I’m 26 weeks! Double holy shit!

As with the transition from first to second trimester, no one agrees about the transition from second to third. I’ve seen anywhere from 26 weeks to 28 as the start of the third, but simple math (40/3 = 13.33, x2 = 26.66) tells me the third trimester starts at 27 weeks, so that’s what I’m going with. As with the first, I feel like I’m really getting into the swing of the second just as it ends: being visibly pregnant, having lots of energy, feeling baby move. Hopefully this means that all the hallmarks of the third – swelling, discomfort, weird cravings, aches, etc – will wait for another month or two (or three??).

Meanwhile, I feel pretty good. Physically, I’m still strong and capable of pushing myself, and I (mostly) feel better about my body. I’ve decided to stop weighing myself, though, and try to ignore the number when I go to the OB, because I am just too worried about it and even an extra pound or two than I expect pushes me into some nasty mental territory.

Mentally, I’m mostly okay, although the end-of-fiscal-year stress at work really got to me last week. But we’re trucking along with packing and getting ready for the Move and I feel confident about where we are with that. We actually are ahead enough that this weekend we could just focus on relaxing and spending time with friends, which is exactly what I needed.

This week we’re going to head to MI and (hopefully, pleasepleaseplease) find a house (or several) to offer on. Our goal is to pretty much know what our living arrangements will be in August by the end of this week. I hope that’s not too optimistic. 🙂

 

Fun(!) New Symptoms: Lady Jr’s been getting hiccups! At first I was like, those are some strangely rhythmic and consistent kicks, yet they’re not as strong as kicks. When they didn’t stop for 10, 20min, I realized they had to be something else. Hiccups fit the bill nicely, and since she’s supposed to start getting them around now, it makes sense.

As for me, I’ve noticed that rolling from one side to the other in bed is enough to wake me up at night. If I roll too fast, then my abdomen hurts like I’ve strained it. No more flopping around like a fish for me.

 

Things Acquired for Lady Jr: One of our close friends gifted us with a buttload of baby things this week. We now have a crib, a mattress, things to cover said mattress, some clothes – including a batman onesie – a really soft blanket, some burp cloths, and one of those breastfeeding pillows. Both of my sisters-in-law have also promised us gently used baby things, so our to-get list is dwindling quickly. What’s left is mostly diapering paraphernalia and a carseat, both of which we’re going to wait until after we move to acquire.

This has all come at the best time, inbetween dropping a hefty chunk of savings on a car and flying out to MI to house hunt. It’s very reassuring to know that we only have one more absolutely necessary, expensive baby thing to get (see: carseat). Especially after pricing out our move and finding out that having to switch to new insurance right before birth means we get to pay a new deductible (woohoo).

 

Exercise: Two lifting sessions, one elliptical cardio, and one swim. I haven’t been walking as much because it’s so icky out, even in the morning. July is the time of year here when it’s frequently 80-90 degrees and humid at sunrise and my tolerance for sticky heat has apparently plummeted. It’s not a good excuse, so I now have a swim cap and goggles and will be hitting up the pool first thing while Dr Lady’s swimsuit still fits. I forgot how much I love swimming – it’s just the before and after parts that I dislike.

 

Dr Lady: She’s feeling the time crunch. Between our house-hunting trip this week, a wedding in a few more weeks, and her conference at the end of July, she only has one and a half weeks left to get as much Science done as possible. So: a little stressed.

But her foot is still getting better. She’s been encouraged to start using the knee walker less and less and has even done a few short stints in just a shoe, no boot. Which is good, because her boot is starting to fall apart and it seems silly to get a new one when she might only need to wear it for another week or two.

 

Progress Photo, 25w6d:

july-3

2 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

2 responses to “Week 26: Farewell Second Trimester

  1. AmyApplesnail

    congrats on closing out the second trimester! Home stretch!
    The whole not being able to easily roll over in bed thing is REALLY annoying…

    • For some reason I knew about this, but thought it had something to do with not being able to be on your tummy, not just not being able to roll over, period. o.o

Leave a Reply

