Week 23: Baby Girl

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +16
Shoe Size: 10
Bra Size: 34A 36B 36C/38B

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12
Con: 19 17
Int: 12
Wis: 14
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics

Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, No Shits Given, Morning Mania

Diseases/Curses: Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str),  General aches and pains (-2 Con)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 10
Con: 12
Int: 20
Wis: 16
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim

Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus

Diseases/Curses: Too Much To Do, Acute Tendonsis (-2 Dex, -1 Str)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 11.38″ crown to heel
Weight: 1.1 lb

Str: 3
Dex: 5
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth, Wiggle, Kick
Diseases/Curses: None

Lady Jr is a girl!! Now we can use pronouns!!!

Lady Jr’s anatomy scan was last week and she has all her limbs and organs in the right place. Mostly, she just needs to grow into proper bebe size, which is what she’s doing.

This week, chinchilla. Next week, the world:

Standardchinchilla

 

 

 

Overall: The extra energy is really, really nice. We are Getting Things Done. We put a deposit down on a new car (expected in two weeks [or sooner {please}]), we perused and made notes on 40 properties our realtor sent us, we cleared out the office, we packed 10 boxes, we got rid of a trunkload of stuff, we made the week’s food, we filled out the registry, I found some decent pregnancy/parenthood/newborn books at the secondhand bookstore and made some headway, and we both went to work every day.

Yet, of course, there are always more things to do. I haven’t written in over a month and I can’t seem to find the time or energy to overcome this inertia. Tomorrow, tomorrow, always tomorrow.

Harder still when I’m so wrapped up in kicks and wiggles and rolls and dreaming about this little bebe. I am still surprised by how much knowing her birth gender has helped both me and Dr Lady fully realize that This is a Thing and in a few short months, This Thing will be coming home with us. Hence the book acquisitions and a sudden need to understand all things postpartum and newborns – topics I’ve been avoiding. Our impending parenthood is a lot more Real and I especially feel like I can finally let go of the sense that Planning might jinx things.

As of this week, Lady Jr has a 20-35% chance of survival outside the uterus. Next week, it’ll be 50-70%. In my head, she’s no longer just a fetus but an actual baby. I’ve even been using the word baby, which I’d been avoiding for months. We’ve been playing with names for her and every time I use a name, a real name, for her she becomes that much more human.

 

Mood: So much happier. I’ve still got a bit of fight in me, for sure, but I’ve been laughing more and crying at the thought of all the things I want to show Lady Jr.

 

Fun(!) New Symptoms: Uuuugh round ligament paaain. We’re at about 10min of walking before it begins to hurt and now I get stabbing sensations around the same area if I’ve been too active. Looking into ways to mitigate this, possibly through belly support. Any tips are appreciated.

 

Exercise: Lifted twice, walked a lot, despite the pain. I did a HIIT workout on a stationary bike and plan to do that again this week. I’ve also been looking at more cardio-like lifting workouts because just sitting on a bike for 20 min is boring.

New this week: prenatal yoga. I tried out a class on Saturday and I liked it enough that I plan on going back next week. It’s mostly stretching, but I need to work on mindfulness and breathing. Also it’s just nice to be around some other pregnant ladies.

 

Dr Lady: Doing good. Still getting better, just slowly. She was told to start walking on the foot for 5-10min a day. I’ve begun to realize that even if she can walk by the time we move, she still shouldn’t be putting much weight on the foot. We’ll definitely need help moving. 😦

 

Progress Photo, 22w6d:

Is it just me or has the bump stayed about the same these last three weeks??

 

Bonus! pic of Dr Lady helping draw this week’s chalkboard:

4 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

4 responses to “Week 23: Baby Girl

  1. oc15

    I couldn’t actually see your update photo for this week but the belly does plateau a bit in the size department around this time. It’s so crazy how knowing the gender instantly makes it more real 🙂 I recommend not reading too much or at least not reading and worrying too much. No book knows your baby the way you and lady will know your baby. It was just our personal preference to learn with babe and not have our minds jumbled up with all the info that could make us second guess our parental gut instincts. Although, I think I do “know you” enough to know the fact that you are a writer means you seek knowledge and do that may be where your comfort lies. I guess I just don’t want the knowledge to make you anxious is what I’m getting at. There is a lot of unnecessary info out there for new mamas.

    • I’m going to try not to read too much. I’ve been highly selective in my reading thus far, eschewing What to Expect for books with less emphasis on all the things that can go wrong. I co-read the Birth Partner with my wife and have been perusing From the Hips of late, which seems to be a really comprehensive overview of pregnancy and becoming a parent and what a newborn even is.
      I’m going to mostly steer clear of books that preach a particular agenda because I do want to find my own way, as you put it.

      • I read a few books on sleep and general parenting philosophies in the beginning, but the best thing was when I put the books down and called my mother in law 🙂

  2. Benni

    Cute pic of you! ❤

Leave a Reply

