Week 13: Are We in the Second Trimester Yet?

Player One
28c795e4db4c71da104642b271964c3a
Player Two
522a9e630c6c0a25d8f921ed5b688f7f
Level 29 Human Bard/Fighter
Height: 5’9″
Weight: 164 +3
Shoe Size: 10
Bra Size: 34A 36B

Str: 18 16
Dex: 12
Con: 19 18
Int: 12
Wis: 14
Cha: 18

Highest skills: Bluff, Gather Rumors, Knowledge (Folklore) (History), Athletics
Feats: Natural Immunity, Iron WillRun, Nap, No Shits Given
Diseases/Curses: Evening Sickness (-1 Con), Minor Fatigue (-1 Con), Heavy Things Gettin’ Heavy (-2 Str)

Level 30 Human Warlock/Ranger
Height: 5’8″
Weight: Redacted
Shoe Size: 11
Bra Size: 36B

Str: 17 16
Dex: 12 11
Con: 12 11
Int: 20
Wis: 16
Cha: 16

Highest skills: Heal, Knowledge (Science) (Arcana), Spot, Listen, Swim
Feats: Alertness, Diligent, Spell Focus
Diseases/Curses: Anxiety, Too Much To Do, Minor Couvade Syndrome (-1 Con), Stress Fracture (-1 Dex, -1 Str)

Player Three

Level 0 Human NPC
Height: 2.91″
Weight: 23g

Str: 2
Dex: 2
Con: 10
Int: 1
Wis: 1
Cha: 14

Highest skills: Grow, Swim, Hide
Feats: Self-Sufficient, Stealthy, Heartbeat, Growth
Diseases/Curses: None

This week in growth: vocal chords and placenta.

Lady Jr jumped almost an inch in length and added quite a few grams to her weight. According to the app, that means they’re about the size of a clownfish:

 

 

What even is week 13? Everything seems to indicate that 12 weeks is the end of the first trimester, but then again those same sources say 14 is when the second starts. Maybe they just skip 13 because it’s unlucky, but I’m going to go with this week being an interstitial, transitory time. So we’re not first tri, but we’re also not second: we’re 13 weeks.

That said, I’m feeling pretty 13-weeks. My symptoms are much abated, which is nice, but at the same time that means I’m worrying if everything is okay in there. Our next OB appointment is Thursday and omg, it can’t come quick enough. Between telling close family and acquiring an ergo carrier and then spending a weekend with said close family and a two month old and getting all of the baby advice, I feel like I’m hitting the jinx button pretty hard. I keep telling myself this is all normal and I still have some symptoms and anyway, no indication that anything is wrong, but Thursday will be a relief.

Remaining symptoms seem to ebb and flow. Most days I’m fine, just a little tired. Boobs are no longer sore, just big (even my mom commented on them). Digestion is slow as fuck. Nausea is now (mostly) little more than a gross feeling that goes away once I eat. Appetite hasn’t really noticeably increased yet, but I’m eating small meals every two hours. Belly bloats and unbloats throughout the day/week, but there does seem to be a permanent pudge going on. I’m still at 3 pounds total gained so far, which squeaks me in under the cut-off for first tri gain. Phew.

Also everyone keeps referring to Lady Jr as a she, so I’m going to go ahead and lay (imaginary) money down that Lady Jr is, in fact, a he. Not just to be contrary, but mostly because all three of my nieces are girls, my cousin is having a girl, and my friend has a girl. So, a boy is due. We won’t know for another month or two, but it’s fun to bet now.

2 Comments

Filed under gaybies, pregnancy, progress

2 responses to “Week 13: Are We in the Second Trimester Yet?

  1. AmyApplesnail

    I counted week 14 as the start of the second trimester, but I have always found the weeks/months/trimesters thing very inconsistent and confusing… I tried to set up notices in my calendar for each month of pregnancy, and depending on where I started it (first day of last period or date of conception), the pregnancy was 9.5 or 10 months. Which made the trimester markers even more confusing… I imagine it as you do – 12 weeks is a milestone, 14 is the official second trimester, and 13 is some blurred line transition week.

  2. I went with the start of 14 as the start of the second too. I figure 13 x 3 gets me to 39 weeks, which is good enough. 12 x 3 didn’t feel like quite enough. I’ll consider the start of 27 weeks the start of the third (though some people use 28?) and then the start of 40 as the endzone.

Leave a Reply

