Week 7 Food: uuuuuugggh

First full week of morning sickness, or as I like to call it, being completely turned off by food. Nothing is appealing except (sometimes) meat and (way too often times) junk. I feel puffy and bloated from all this not-ideal food. Taken individually, each food alone is not that bad (and hey, didn’t have ice cream for dinner this week), but all together it equals uncomfortable, because even though my body only wants carbs, I do not respond well to carbs.

I also had a realization that I am primarily turned off by cooked vegetables, which is unfortunate because that is the state of most of the vegetables in our home. Well – not anymore! For next week I have prepared a ton of chopped carrots, radishes, celery, broccoli, and sugar snap peas to munch on. Hopefully then if any single one of those becomes unappealing, I can just remove it without too much of a loss. We’ll see.

Breakfasts: Sauteed kale and sausage, eggs and gf toast and cheese, gf pizza

Lunch: Nightshade-free enchiladas (which are the BEST), yogurt with granola and fruit, chicken vermicelli, toast and sunflower butter, egg and pastrami and pumpernickel sandwich

Dinners: Toast and cheese, burgers, gf pizza, and fried chicken tenders

Snacks: White cheddar popcorn, corn chips, pumpkin gelatin gummies, cheese, bananas, apples, oranges, ginger chews, green tea mochis

Drinks: Water, half-caff coffee, Kombucha, fizzy water, water with lemon, water with electrolytes, ginger-steeped water

Yeah, wow, that’s like anti-vegetables right there. And I am definitely feeling it. Toast was sometimes the only slightly appealing thing to eat, but now I’m completely over toast too, so.

I hope my non-cooked vegetable trick works.

13 Comments

Filed under diet, gaybies, pregnancy

13 responses to “Week 7 Food: uuuuuugggh

  1. AmyApplesnail

    Vegetables were my biggest aversion too!

  2. For 17 weeks, all I wanted was Rice Chex, soft pretzels, and – weirdly – fish filet sandwiches.

  3. I craved meat and salad almost my whole pregnancy, which was weird since I had been a vegetarian for 16 years at that point. I went over to the dark side at one point, and now steak is my favorite food 😉

    • Gina

      This was me!! I had been vegetarian for 15 years when I discovered that unlike before pregnancy, the grills of Burger King smelled delightful instead of repulsive 🙂 At 8 mos pregnant I couldn’t stand it anymore and ate a Whopper. It was heavenly. The only thing that didn’t make me feel sick, and oddly enough, the only thing that took the nausea away.
      When my husband saw what meat I chose to eat after falling off the wagon he offered to get me some high quality meat. Just the thought of anything but a Whopper made my stomach turn…the body is a peculiar beast sometimes!

    • Welcome to the dark side 🙂
      I was vegetarian for 10 years, but I broke that one a while ago.

  4. I hated vegetable at too, but raw ones were the worst. I think I was like 16 weeks along before I was able to down a raw carrot 🙂 hang in there, it’ll pass eventually and you’ll be mostly back to your normal diet.

  5. AndiePants

    I was off veggies till the second tri. Basically I ate baby bel cheese and raman.

  6. oc15

    the food struggle is so real at this stage. eat what works, don’t worry about the rest. although that’s very hard when the foods you crave make you feel crummy. sorry about that part. if it gives you hope, i ate pretty much nothing great for my first trimester and then ate salads EVERYDAY for the rest of my pregnancy.

Leave a Reply

