Getting My Hair Cut

I have an appointment tomorrow to get my hair cut. It would have been today if there was room. That might not sound like something worthy of blogging, but it is for me.

It’s been a year and a half since my hair last saw scissors. I decided in August of 2014 in the middle of another confusingly long cycle, that I wasn’t going to cut my hair until I got pregnant. I honestly don’t remember the exact reasoning now, but it had something to do with defiance and being depressed. An outward display of my ordeal that only I really knew about.

I have to admit, it was kind of fun at first. Taking folate everyday, my hair grows really fast. But sometime last August, when it was long enough to pull back into a ponytail (at last!), it got old. I kept thinking – well maybe soon. I can hold out another month.

But another month became two became three became now six and I can’t. I’ve been shedding my self-imposed TTC chains one by one over the last year – Crossfit, low carb, buying new clothes, buying bras, planning for a childless future, planning – but the hair held out.

I could wait one more month. True. Rain or shine, extra line or not, we’re gonna be done with this by March. But. But – I am done waiting. With this extra wallop about France on Tuesday, I need all the control I can get. I am not putting anything off unless I absolutely have to. And I don’t have to wait to get my hair cut – well, any longer than a day.

I’ve been combing over photos from the last year and a half to see where I liked my hair best. It was fun watching it grow out all over again, so I picked my favorites and put them together into a little collage. We’ll see soon what that last square holds!

hairprogression

6 Comments

Filed under defiant, simply informative, TTC, two week wait

6 responses to “Getting My Hair Cut

  1. Fat Girl Dancing

    Look at those faces! 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to see what you do! I love the middle photo.

  3. The middle photo is my favorite too. I am looking forward to seeing the end result. I have ALWAYS been a short hair gal though. My attitude has always been its just hair it will grow back 🙂

Leave a Reply

