IUI Alpha, DPO 11: OHSS?

23094055564_5f06ddffeb_z

Kitty faces make everything better.

I think I might have had a mild form of OHSS. Or maybe it’s just a typical reaction to letrozole and HCG? I got super duper bloated and started retaining water hardcore for a few days, gained 4lbs, had headaches, sore boobs, and all sorts of abdominal distress. Basically, I was a gas machine.

Of course, I was all like “symptoms?!” and when I discovered an extra cheapo HPT living in my purse (wtf?), I decided what the hell, might as well. Of course it was negative, but I’m kind of relieved that I did take the HPT, because now I can stop what-if-ing about those particular symptoms and blame them on (perhaps) OHSS instead.

Also of course: all of that bloating and distress has receded a bit today. So now I want to ask ya’ll: has this ever happened to you with an IUI? I only had two follicles and I’m sure I’ve had two release during other, unmedicated cycles, but this is the first time something like this has happened. Maybe it was something else?

As far as confidence about this cycle goes, that confidence has waned considerably. I am now 95% certain that I’ll get to have a big glass of wine on Sunday. I’m okay with it right now, but whether that’s because it’s still to come or because I know we did everything we could this time or because I have doubled the amount of vitamin D I’m taking… well, I guess we’ll see.

5 Comments

Filed under BFN, PCOS, TTC, two week wait

5 responses to “IUI Alpha, DPO 11: OHSS?

  1. I never had any crazy stuff from my medicated cycles, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t possible. Your symptoms sound exactly like OHSS. I hope you start feeling better soon!

  2. The letrozole might also just be causing higher progesterone during your luteal phase. My RE warned me that in medicated cycles, my hormones would get all wonky, especially the first round. Those symptoms could be OHSS or just higher than normal-for-you progesterone. Still keeping fingers crossed!!

  3. AmyApplesnail

    Sometimes Dr. Google is the only one available for us to turn to when we want answers immediately! Sorry you are going through those symptoms, hope you continue to feel better!

Leave a Reply

