IUI Alpha, CD3: Anti-Cancer Regimen Apparently

First day of letrozole! All the googling I did these last few days to find out side effects and when would be best to take it and whether or not caffeine interferes didn’t really teach me anything, but I did learn that letrozole is an anti-cancer drug.

So, coupled with the recent research showing that metformin is likewise protective and an anticancer agent, I can rest at night knowing that I at least won’t get cancer.

…right? Right guys? That’s how this works?? πŸ˜€

7 Comments

Filed under gaybies, simply informative, TTC

7 responses to “IUI Alpha, CD3: Anti-Cancer Regimen Apparently

  1. Yep, pretty sure that’s right πŸ˜‰

  2. Actually I had to sign a waiver before they let me start letrozole because it’s a cancer drug for post-menopausal women with breast cancer that just happens to have the side effect of stopping your body from producing FSH while you take it. Then when you stop your body overcompensates or something.

    • No waiver! I was a little surprised how easily they let me take it, but it does seem pretty safe from what I’ve been able to gather from studies and stuff.

      • Oh yeah it seems totally safe. I took it for 8 cycles without issue. Maybe it’s just MA that requires the waiver – it was just to acknowledge that I knew the FDA hadn’t approved it for fertility purposes or something.

  3. Hope the letrozole treats you well!!

  4. So interested to hear how you do on it! I will be doing letrozole at the end of the month as prep for my FET. It’s a more unconventional route since I didn’t respond to Estrace. Let me know if you have any advice, like what side effects there are, if anything interacts with it, etc

    • So far it’s fine, but I’ll definitely post at the end of the 5 days. I suspect it has a lot to do with how much estrogen you have naturally floating around in your system, since it inhibits estrogen production. So if you have PCOS and excess estrogen, it seems like it might actually normalize things a bit!

Leave a Reply

