Speck of Awesome PCOS Diet (of Awesome)

greens and you

While we were in Seattle and while we were mainlining carbs and while we were deciding to go ahead with this whole IUI thing, I was researching and planning out a special PCOS diet for optimal success. I meant to implement it November 1st, but the sudden onset of work threw my off track and then I thought – I seem to be doing okay. Maybe I don’t need to be so careful after all.

So pizza and beer and cookies happened and now it’s CD20 with no sign of ovulation in sight. *sigh* I never learn.

Looking back to this summer and when I was ovulating like a clock, I have to admit that maybe low-carb really does work. It wasn’t until I started loosening my diet in August and falling off for carbs that the 29-30 day cycles I’d been getting jumped up to 40.

It’s hard to wrap my head around carbs being such a big factor because I feel *so good* on carbs. My workouts are better. My running is faster. I recover better. But, alas, I might just have to make that trade-off for now. I’ll just have to accept shitty workouts in the short term.

That’s also part of why I didn’t start Nov 1st. I just don’t wanna. My only real symptom of PCOS is not ovulating, and that only happens… well, for a while, but it’s hard to pin down. It’s not like I break out in hives or get a nasty headache or anything.

So. Let’s do this. I did my research. I know what I need to do. I know it helps. I have no excuse.

I’ve cobbled together all of my nutritional knowledge and everything I’ve learned about PCOS in the last six months (only six?!) as well as everything I know about myself and come up with the Speck of Awesome PCOS Diet (of Awesome). It looks a lot like this:

CARBS

  • Whole food, low GI sources: sweet potatoes, pumpkins, berries, green bananas, the occasional small apple, pears, grapefruit, dairy.
  • Frontload with fibrous vegetables: greens, kohlrabi, sprouts, endive, bok choy, celery, radishes, mushrooms, cabbage, jicama, okra, green beans, fennel, cauliflower etc.
  • 75g of net carbs or less (this will be tweaked up or down, but never going over 100g)
  • >30g of carbs after a workout or 2+ mile run
  • Avoid high GI fruit in favor or low GI fruit.
  • No dried fruit.
  • This should go without saying, but: no grains.

 

PROTEIN

  • Grassfed beef, pastured chicken & pork, wild-caught fish, clams, shrimp, shellfish, insects, & happy eggs.
  • Pretty much as much as I want.
  • Nuts are okay in small amounts.
  • Beans and legumes and lentils are okay once or twice a week.
  • No soy.
  • Fuck soy, seriously.

 

FAT

  • Coconut oil, grassfed butter, pork lard, beef tallow, olive oil, mayo, avocado oil, avocados, coconut butter, and the occasional nut.
  • I need to work on increasing my fat intake to make up for the lack of carbs.
  • More fatty snacks, too. Fat fat fat.

 

I’m in the process of making a list of yes-all-the-time foods, sometimes foods, and in very small amount foods which I’ll share when it’s done. I’m aiming to make this a lifestyle change as much as paleo was for me, which will mean allowing for deviations and the occasional special occasion.

For now, though, we have two weeks until Thanksgiving and I’m going to spend those two weeks getting as on track as possible.

2 Comments

Filed under PCOS

2 responses to “Speck of Awesome PCOS Diet (of Awesome)

  1. Great list! I can’t wait for the other list you are going to post! The struggle with carbs is so real…. I feel your pain!

Leave a Reply

