Onwards

I made an appt with the RE for next Tuesday. Now I get to worry about that instead of making the call. I’m just glad it’s before our trip to Seattle, because I know they’re going to weigh me and right now my weight is fine, but after all the pastries and cupcakes and crepes we’re gonna eat in the PNW, weeelll…

And it doesn’t help that I’m still smarting from that “lose 5lbs!” bullshit because honestly, maybe they could look at me instead of the number on the scale and stop making assumptions.

Also I’m worried about the “is this appt too early??” question, too. We don’t want to actually do any IUI’s until January because a) I need a mental break and b) we have a friend’s wedding this summer that I don’t want miss – I figure if we get really lucky in January, I can *probably* handle being six months along at a wedding. So end of October seems a little premature, but then what if he wants me to do more testing or what if my thyroid is still a little off or my blood sugar is still whack or or or –

*breathes*

Oh yeah, but also to give us time to find a donor. That too. A little important.

Bonus! of waiting until January as of today is that will also give us time to save up, because I will actually have a job for a few months before then. I just got the offer of employment today. So: yay, we won’t have to worry as much about funding this as I had feared. Yay employment. Yay money!

12 Comments

Filed under simply informative, TTC

12 responses to “Onwards

  1. I wouldn’t worry about the timing of when you set up a plan versus have your first cycle. At least my RE has been pretty much like “do what you want when you want.”

    It’s silly, weight doesn’t mean much, body fat percentage has more meaning about hormone balance and even that varies by the person.

  2. The timing of the appointment sounds perfect to me – allows you 2+ months to get your ducks in a row. Our first appt was end of July or very early August, and the first IUI was at the beginning of October, and that seemed fast.
    Also, congratulations on the new job!! I hope it is very fulfilling and still allows you time to write!

    • Thank you for saying that because I’m definitely one of those people who wishes there was a handbook for everything. 🙂 I’m reassured I won’t come off sounding crazy when we meet with him on Tuesday.
      Also: thank you! It should at least teach me new things and I doubt it’ll interfere with writing time. If anything, structure will help me write more.

  3. Congrats on the new job!! It sounds like the timing of everything might just fall in place nicely. I really hope it does. 🙂

  4. It is never to early to be prepared so YAY for an appointment.

  5. What a coincidence! I talked to my doctor’s office about our first IUI in January today, too! I think it’s perfect timing… you can get any questions or concerns or any of the formalities out of the way so you don’t have to worry about it come January, especially with the holidays approaching! I also am in a friend’s wedding this summer and they just set the date for the beginning of July. It’s amazing how parallel our stories are running right now! 🙂

    • IUI buddies! Yeah, I was really concerned about the whole holiday season if we waited until November.
      Omg, that’s crazy! Our friend’s wedding is mid-July! I’m mostly worried about flying to it, since apparently quite a few airlines won’t let a 6 months + pregnant lady fly.

      • Ah, I didn’t even think about the flying part! I’ll try to relay my wife’s positive attitude and say I’m sure things will work out just how they are supposed to! 🙂

      • Hah! Flying is something I’ve kept in the back of my mind for every try, because inevitably there’s some family thing going on several states away from us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

