What is This Madness

Day four of fever. I have had colds before and I have had flus, and this is neither. It’s like literally, just a fever. Plus some headaches and joint pain and chills, but that’s all after the fever really gets going, so appears to be strictly fever-related.

Not even that tired. I actually have to take nyquil just to sleep at night. Gave up on trying to nap during the day.

To add insult to injury, we found out that the possibility of moving to France in November is a no-go. We were waiting for this guy in the lab to get a job somewhere else, which looked like a sure thing because he placed 1st in the job exam – but apparently that wasn’t enough. So there is no conveniently vacant spot for Dr Lady to fill.

Thankfully, that’s not the end. Dr Lady can make a spot by applying for a grant in November – which was our original plan anyway before this other one came up in July. Just, the July plan seemed more like a sure thing – already funded, guy’s got a 95% chance of leaving, etc. So we honestly don’t know the chances on the grant. But, like I told Dr Lady, at least this is on her own merit, not sitting around hoping someone else does the Thing.

To be honest, I’m relieved. Between the depression and aimlessness and our failed last cycle and now this neverending fever, the thought of organizing everything and packing up in six weeks seemed insane. I mean, we could do it. But I am kind of glad we’re not.

Right now, I’m just really glad that I know where we’re going to be for the next four months. I can finally plan beyond the end of September. This changes a lot of things for us, makes a few things possible while closing off others, but at least things can finally -be-.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What is This Madness

  1. I’m sorry the job thing didn’t work out. I hope you feel better soon!

  2. Sorry about your sick and the job (but I can appreciate a Clue reference)

Leave a Reply

