Drifting Away

I’ve become less and less engaged in the blogging TTC community lately. Less likely to write about it. Less likely to comment. I still try to keep up, and I’m still rooting for quite a few of you, but for the most part I’ve been withdrawing.

At first, I didn’t do this intentionally, but having noticed I’m not going to do anything to correct it. I know it’s a way to protect myself if/when the time comes for us to throw in the towel. I can picture a lot of things about our future right now – wearing pretty dresses in France, exploring Europe by rail, writing my next book, watching sunsets, holding my brother’s little girl, getting published, attending fancy parties, cooking amazing new things, and overall having a grand adventure with my wife. But I simply can’t picture a child anymore.

I hate feeling ungrateful for all that, and largely I’m not. We are so, so blessed and lucky and I can’t help but look at the last month and all that has happened in absolute awe.

Which makes this withdrawal process a little easier. This was – and still is – a life blog instead of just a TTC blog, so I won’t be going anywhere, but those posts will diminish. Instead, I’m going to try to focus on those positive aspects of my life, and share how we’re preparing for France. 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under gaybies, simply informative, TTC

8 responses to “Drifting Away

  1. jen.g

    I look forward to continuing to read your fun adventures!

  2. I try to keep up. My blog is pretty much dead now. I’ve pretty much moved entirely to tumblr because I found a pretty active foster parent community there since we’re going in that direction.
    I enjoy keeping up on your blog and keeping up with those who were trying when we were who haven’t had kids yet. I find myself dropping people when they have kids though. I have a feeling a year out it’ll only be life blogs I follow if any.

    • Oooh, that’s where you are. I was gonna ask if you’d made a new blog for that journey. Would it be okay if i followed you on tumblr? Fostering has always been in the cards for us, although later down the line when we finally settle in one spot. You don’t have to follow me back – i mostly just retumblr cats. 🙂

      • I’ve missed you both!! But, I completely understand withdrawing from this space, as you feel less like an insider and more like a spectator. I’ve experienced that as well. Wherever you both end up – parenting, famous writers, adventurers, or caregivers – I hope I can continue to follow you both!!

      • (I joined “The Tumblr”, I have yet to figure out what to do with it, lol)

  3. I really enjoy your blog regardless of TTC, so I’m glad to hear that you are not going anywhere!! And honestly, now that we are moving in the direction of adoption I really enjoy blogs that aren’t focused on TTC, so I’ll be continuing to read. 🙂

  4. I enjoy reading your blog! I’m glad you guys have so many things in the future to look forward to. If our IVF doesn’t work we will look into embryo adoption and it will be hard reading other TTC stories.

  5. I look forward to reading about your French adventures!

Leave a Reply

