Best News of My Adult Life (So Far)

What elder god have I so thoroughly pleased? Apparently the kind one, because all I’ve had to pay for it so far is this really awful hangover this morning from one (!) glass of celebratory wine last night.

Protip for anyone taking metformin: don’t drink. Just don’t.

Also no, I’m not pregnant. Honestly, it looks like this cycle is bust (ov is late and donor is out of town). But right now, that’s okay because:

I got an offer of representation!!

Ya’ll know I’m a writer, an aspiring author. It’s been my dream career since I realized it could be a legit career, and although I’ve written my entire life, I really buckled down four years ago and decided I was going to Make This Happen. I started treating it seriously and since then I have written and queried three books. The first two had major flaws. But the latest one I was super stoked about.

My queries started getting answers from agents, not just form rejections. Then partial requests. Then full manuscript requests. And now, just this weekend, an email from an agent asking if she can give me a call. To say I didn’t sleep at all after that is a bit of an understatement.

I tried not to get my hopes up because I’d read horror stories about agents who called just to tell a writer to revise and resubmit or what all exactly was wrong with their book. But I shouldn’t have worried. She was sweet and excited and we talked for a bit about my current and future projects and then she said the sweet words and I think I’m still in shock?

I asked for some time to consider and contact the other agents who had partials/manuscripts, because that’s what you’re supposed to do, so it won’t be official for a week at least, but guys, I really like her and and and

I just seriously leveled up as a writer. ;.;

Anyway – what’s next? I’ll sign a contract with her (or, less likely, one of the others) and then she will wine and dine editors and publishers until someone is as excited as she is to publish it, a process which can take a year or longer.

In the meantime, I keep writing something new, in case no one picks up that novel – which is still a very real possibility, no matter how talented she is.

Omg you guys though – this is such a big step. I still can’t wrap my mind around it. So I’m just going to go drink some coffee and write.

21 Comments

Filed under goals, happy things

21 responses to “Best News of My Adult Life (So Far)

  1. I’m so happy for you~!

  2. Congratulations!! I am delighted for you! I am so excited to read your book when it hits the shelves!!

  3. Woohoo! This is awesome news! Can’t wait to read the first published book!

  4. Congratulations! What an amazing step!

  5. Nice! I’m so happy for you!

  6. Absolutely fabulous! Congratulations!

  7. That’s amazing news, congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

