It’s June!

I’ve been a bit more scarce on here lately because a) I’ve been busier than usual and b) my energy and attention has shifted into high-gear writer mode. I’m working on a short story, still actively querying, researching agents, participating in Twitter, and getting ready for a pitch contest that’s going down tomorrow (!).

I don’t really know what to expect from all that. I’m controlling what I can and being cautiously optimistic, but the odds are ever against an individual writer. It’s a bit like TTC in that regard – you do what you can and there are a few things you can do to maximize your chances, but that’s all they ever are – chances. No guarantees, not ever, but an enduring hope that if you just keep going, you just keep trying, maybe next time…

I just came across a blog the other day, in fact, where a debut author described her journey to authorhood and how it was her sixth book that finally found a home. Six books! Twelve years of writing and rewriting and querying and writing again. I almost can’t wrap my head around it, but at the same time, I’m very impressed with her perseverance.

Then, of course, there are those writers who get a book deal first try, without any of the endless rejections and anguish and hair-tearing – and you can’t help but feel a flash of dark and nasty jealousy.

But it’s luck. It’s market and the whims of agents and whether or not their cat woke them up with a hairball that morning (not really) and whether or not you can write a query and where they are in their own careers etc etc etc.

So you do everything you can, but it’s ultimately out of your hands. And that’s what I’ve been doing.

That and slowly getting rid of our chickens. Oh, and dealing with the 100+ heat. Oh, and trying to plan and get ready for our trip next week (SWITZERLAND WOOOO). My cycle appears to have lined up for a good ole fashioned try at the end of June, but until then, I won’t have much to report on the TTC front.

So it might continue to be a little quiet around here for a week or two (or three), but I promise when we get back from our trip, I will inundate you with photos and worries and hopes and dreams and TMI and random questions about metformin.

5 Comments

Filed under simply informative, TTC

5 responses to “It’s June!

  1. Trying to land a book deal sounds an awful lot like TTC…some get it first time, others try YEARS! Eeep!

  2. I’m so excited for your Switzerland trip. Can’t wait to read all about it!

  3. Fat Girl Dancing

    Getting rid of the chickens???? 😮

    • Yup – it’s time. We need to transition coop ownership fully over to the landlady and they’re not laying as much and Lady is concerned about the growing heat. So we offed one, donated four, and are waiting to donate the rest.

Leave a Reply

