TTC Timeline

I’d been holding off on putting one of these things together because it just didn’t seem like we had that much going on. But now it’s been over a year and last week was National Infertility Awareness Week and I realized I wanted to better be able to share what we’ve been through so far, in any easily chewable format, for all those just putting their toes into the TTC and infertility world and those who have started following me for their own reasons, so that neither has to go back and read every. single. post. from the last year.

Perhaps when put in such a format, someone will even see their own journey mirrored here and can feel a little less alone. Because that’s really what this whole blogging experience has been about – shouting into the ether, hoping to hear an echo of solidarity. And I have heard so many echoes this past year. It’s time to add my own.

Let’s start at the very beginning…

August 2013 – We officially decided we both wanted a kid and it was time to see what we could do about it. We gave ourselves six months to get our shit together and make sure our lives and finances would survive whatever came next. We confirm our known donor and I go get a check-up at my doctor to ask if I should be concerned about my irregular cycles.

November 2013 – I quit Crossfit to save money and focus on strength training. I am determined to have the strongest quads and abs in the desert.

January-June 2014 – I start the Autoimmune Protocol as part of my pledge to clean up my diet, but also to get rid of some pesky skin problems. It’s hard, but I learn I have an egg and nightshade intolerance. My cycle also becomes regular for the first time in a year.

March 2014 – First at-home TTC attempt, turkey baster edition. I am super duper excited and full of naïve optimism and absolutely convinced it’ll work the first time. But even though I have all the symptoms – nausea, increased sensitivity to smells, insomnia – the two weeks end in a BFN.

April 2014 – Second attempt. Still excited. Still optimistic. And then I get my period at what should have been DPO 2, according to temping.

May 2014 – I go to the OB-GYN for the weird cycles. They do a day 3 blood draw. Nothing out of the ordinary.

June 2014 – We try OPKs for the first time. I think I get a positive and we try again before we leave to get married in MN. Now we are legal! But it’s another BFN.

July 2014 – Fourth attempt. Still using OPKs. Still temping. Tried out red raspberry leaf tea for this cycle. I also try reintroducing nightshades and eggs at this time and eat way too many gluten free baked goods. BFN.

August 2014 – Would-be fifth attempt is thwarted when I don’t ovulate. We start a well-deserved break from TTC.

September-November 2014 – I play around with very low carb diets and ketosis. I have two 50+ day cycles.

November-December 2014 – My cycles continue to be strange. I pick up temping again at the end of November and confirm two anovulatory cycles.

January 2015 – Actual fifth attempt. I start taking maca powder, as well as temping and using OPKs. I also start drinking mint tea most days. Our timing for this attempt ends up being way off. I start to consider going to a doctor. BFN.

February 2015 – The maca makes me ovulate super early and we try a sixth time. I go back to Crossfit in an attempt to control my worsening depression. BFN.

March 2015 – Seventh attempt, but my temps look like a roller coaster and my OPKs give me a false positive. I make an appointment for the end of the month to see an RE for my irregular cycles and lack of positive tests.

April 2015 – TTC break. The RE does a ton of tests and I am diagnosed with PCOS and mild hypothyroidism. I start taking metformin and synthroid. I have an HSG done, but everything looks peachy keen. I keep temping and confirm a more normal 33day cycle.

So that’s where we are now. May 2015 will read more metformin and a D&C, and probably a follow-up appointment with the RE. I’m not sure what June will bring just yet, but I’m started to get excited to find out.

4 Comments

Filed under BFN, depression, gaybies, simply informative, TTC

4 responses to “TTC Timeline

  1. Yeah, I haven’t updated my TTC timeline since last year.

    • Also I predict you’ll be knocked up by the end of summer if not the fourth 🙂

      • Oh, how I hope you’re right. My bday is at the end of summer, and that would be the best present. 🙂 But I know better than to start looking forward to dates…

      • True, very true. My wife and I are toying with the idea of trying again, but are both sure we can have a happy life even without any children. The worst cycle for me was the last one where I had a faint probably false positive. That was when I looked up due date info and began making mental plans. That BFN was by far the worst.

Leave a Reply

