Springtime in the Desert

Since this is our (*finger’s crossed*) last spring here in the desert, I’ve been trying to drink it all in and really appreciate it. Over the past five years, I’ve learned to love the desert and all its tiny surprises. Like bedecking terrifyingly spiny cactus monsters with gorgeous and colorful blooms.

The desert can certainly feel very dull, especially by the end of summer, but the spring (and winter [and part of the fall]) make it worth it. There are bright yellow mesquites, orange ocotillos, pink prickly pears, and orange and yellow and red chollas. In a few more weeks, we’ll have white saguaro blooms too.

I’d been meaning to get out and go for a spring bloom hike for weeks now, but it’s been difficult to carve out time. Finally I just threw up my hands and said WE’RE DOING IT RAIN OR SHINE OR WHAT HAVE YOU and we did it and it was good.

I will certainly miss this very particularly desert style of spring. Everything has to get its blooming in before the heat really sets in and ruins it for everyone. I’m still going to whine about the upcoming 100 & 110+ days but, well, this makes it worth it.

7 Comments

Filed under happy things

7 responses to “Springtime in the Desert

  1. Those colors are gorgeous!

  2. Beautiful! I’ve always loved the Sonoran desert landscape, it’s so different than the Midwest, but I would have a hard time living there with the unrelenting sun and heat.

    • Thank you!
      I think the same thing about the Midwest winter. The only thing that makes the summer here bearable is that at least it’s sunny and there’s plenty of vitamin D to go around. Also the epic monsoon storms.

  3. I feel like we live so close to each other! Where did you take these? I absolutely love the Sonoran Desert ❤️

Leave a Reply

