And the results are in…

The RE called with the blood test results this morning. I’m still waiting for them to send me a copy, but the over-the-phone prognosis is that the results confirm a PCOS diagnosis and I might also have a slight thyroid disorder.

Drugs have already been prescribed and I’m to be on the them post-haste. Metformin is still squicking me out, especially because it’s called glucophage for god’s sake (phage = eater in Greek, so glucophage = glucose eater). But also because it’s for diabetes and high insulin levels and I’ve had routine blood checks done for the past three years and they’ve always been perfect. Not even close to problematic. I don’t need my glucose getting eaten. :<

But then I found a study about metformin for PCOS ladies who are both insulin resistant and not and it said that it helped either way:

“Considering the favorable effects of metformin treatment in PCOS patients both with insulin resistance and without it, it is purposeful to use this drug in both groups of women.”

So. That’s easing my worry a little. That and finding out I have a family member with PCOS who is similar to me in activity level and nutritional awareness and body fat percentage and after starting metformin she felt like a new woman. I’m still a little worried about it lowering my insulin levels when they’re not problematic to begin with, but I can also just take this stuff and see what happens and go from there.

And re: the mild thyroid disorder. My reaction: what?! That feels a bit out of left field, and I really want to see my actual numbers before I accept that as a diagnosis. It could just be low iodine – I’m not as good about eating seafood and seaweed as I should be on a paleo diet. But idk. I guess it could explain why I feel so fatigued most of the time?

I’m still a little bowled over right now, even with the doctor’s suspicions earlier last week. I’ve been googling everything I can about PCOS, but it’s all about losing weight and controlling your insulin levels, which is less than helpful. I’m at somewhere between 24-27% body fat, so I don’t need to lose weight, and like I said above, my glucose levels and other markers are fine.

Basically: I don’t know. We’ll see how the metformin goes and in the meantime I’m going to keep digging through the google results for more information.

15 Comments

Filed under simply informative, TTC

15 responses to “And the results are in…

  1. girl4182

    I find that everything in this game is just messing around until you find what works. Glad that you’re heading down the right path!

    • I know, right! I feel a little like our RE is going that way, except he’s throwing everything remotely possible at the wall to see what sticks. Well, whatever works – it certainly is a better path than the one we were on before.

  2. Do you know which thyroid levels where checked? If it was just TSH they end up potentially missing a whole lot. Thyroid problems can certainly cause major issues both TTC and maintaining a pregnancy, and pregnancy can wreak havoc on your thyroid too.

    • I have the list of ordered tests at home and I’m itching to look at it and see. I vaguely remember at least two thyroid tests, just not which ones.

      • I think the old standard is to measure, gosh, let me think. Free TSH 3 and 4 maybe? It’s been a while since I thought about it. My hormone levels are always normal but I’m having a silent autoimmune reaction that the typical tests don’t catch. Freaked me out because I found out about it *days* after our insemination that worked, and thyroid stuff can be scary.

  3. Our RE also had concerns about Ashley’s thyroid levels and put her on synthroid. Come to find out, her levels were within normal limits for average people but weren’t within the ideal parameters for fertility. She stopped taking after we conceived the twins . I hope you get to see your actual numbers soon!

  4. I hope these results lead to treatment that works for you.

  5. AndiePants

    PCOS is tricky because it’s a cluster of symptoms rather than a clear dx. I’ve never had any insulin issues either but have other makers of PCOS and metformin worked well for me. With thyroid there are ideal levels for the average person and different levels for ttc and pregnancy and breastfeeding.

  6. At least it’s some progress.

  7. Glucoohage is a bad name for the medication as it doesn’t act on the glucose itself at all. Metformin/Glucophage is only affective in insulin resistant patients (like type-2 diabetics).

    I don’t know how much you’ve read up on PCOS, so I apologize if I’m talking to the choir here. With PCOS, the glucose levels aren’t the issue. The insulin levels are. My glucose levels are always normal.

    So with normal patients, they eat, their glucose goes up, their bodies make insulin and the insulin moves the glucose into their cells from the blood, lowering the blood sugar level. In PCOS, we eat, blood sugar goes up, body releases insulin, our cells don’t respond to that insulin, body produces overwhelming amounts (which varies from person to person) and then our body reacts and our blood sugar returns to normal… But the excess insulin makes for all the other problems.

    Metformin works by making the body more sensitive to insulin so that we don’t have to over produce it anymore. Lower insulin = increased fertility, but the sugar isn’t really affected by the Metformin at all, which is why Metformin doesn’t cause blood sugar drops like taking straight insulin does.

Leave a Reply

