WIP Check-in: Five Days to Go

Is the final draft done yet?: NO

Current page count: 180/207

Glasses of Wine: 1

Current problems with the manuscript: the joys of infodumping, how to effectively split up the party

 

Other things unrelated to said final draft:

I had my first appointment with the therapist yesterday. It went pretty well, I think. I really don’t like talking for any length of time, least of all about myself, and obviously that’s what most therapy appointments will be, especially the first one. Weirdly, I’m okay with blogging about myself – I think it’s the depersonal aspect and not having someone staring straight at me, actually listening. Plus, I’m used to being interrupted before I say anything too personal or emotional, so.

Anyway. It was an introductory appointment so not much got done, but I already have a good vibe about her. She seems honest and real and not like she’s going to tell me that I need to stop being so weird anytime soon (something a past therapist actually said). I have another appointment next week after our RE visit, which is probably good timing because, like I told her – I’m more than a bit in denial about TTC being a big factor in my depression.

 

6 Comments

Filed under depression, happy things, progress, writing

6 responses to “WIP Check-in: Five Days to Go

  1. I don’t mean to laugh but that is so ridiculous that a therapist told you to quite being so weird. That is so typical. I hope you didn’t have to pay for that advice. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    • I can laugh about it now with some distance and even at the time it was a poor enough comment that I immediately stopped going. But that whole experience made it much more difficult to reach out to a therapist again. :/

      • I’d say so. But I am not surprised. I have met several really “off” therapists. They were creepy. And you’re down sort of at your lowest point and you’re at their mercy.

  2. I cannot believe you had a therapist tell you to stop being weird. That is just… weird. Also, only one glass of wine? Step it up, girl! You’ve gotta enjoy it while you can! 😉

  3. There are a lot of really bad therapists out there and it sounds like you find one. Weird is the right way for some people to be. 🙂

  4. I love that you said you have a good vibe about her. It’s so important to trust your instincts about others (especially those we are trusting to help us like therapists or doctors) and most people don’t. As a matter of fact I always do this and people think I am crazy or judgmental! I’ve learned to keep my comments about the feelings I get from others to myself…but 99% of the time my intuition is right!

Leave a Reply

