AIP Breakfast Casserole

 

march-143

One of the biggest time-saving changes we made in our lives when we went paleo was preparing as many meals as possible in advance. When I (thought I) could eat eggs, I made large breakfast casseroles weekly which we could divvy up each morning and then be on our merry ways. Unfortunately, after finding out I had an egg sensitivity those casseroles went away completely.

When I started the AIP last year, I simply made greens every morning – fresh and crispy and delicious. I figured I would just deal with it and make casseroles later, after reintroducing eggs. Well, you know how that went. But instead of changing my breakfast ritual, I just kept doing it – every single morning. Add to that occasionally having to make lunch as well and often having to make a separate breakfast for Lady and soon half my morning was taking over by cooking. Not cool.

I seriously don’t know what took me so long to just make an egg-less casserole. I remember searching pinterest and google for inspiration, only to get bummed out at all nightshade-tastic alternatives. Then two weeks ago I looked at what I had and just went fuck it, I’ll make this work.

And I did. And it did. Surprisingly. Or maybe not surprisingly?

So without further ado

AIP Breakfast Casserole

  • 1-2 pounds ground meat (just depends on how much protein you like/need)
  • 1 tbsp. oil for frying
  • 5-7 cups of washed kale/greens of choice
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 cups other veggies – I used mushrooms and broccoli
  • 1 pre-baked sweet potato
  • 1/2 tsp sage
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 or 5 pieces of bacon to top OR crumbled feta
  • A frying pan
  • A baking pan – I used a 7×11

 

march-138

 

Turn your oven on to 350.

Chop all of your veggies first – onion, broccoli, mushrooms, kale, what have you. Then brown the ground meat and set aside. Fry the onion and garlic in the fat (if it’s pastured/grass fed – otherwise use avocado oil), mix in with the ground meat. Briefly sauté the vegetables, then mix them in as well. Add salt and pepper and spices to the meat and veggie mix.

While the pan is hot, cook down the greens a bit. Use a little oil to get them crispy. Set aside.

Now to start the layering process:

march-139

 

Slice your baked sweet potato and cover the bottom of your baking pan with the rings. Add a layer of the cooked greens, then spread out the meat mixture on top of that. Top it off with the rest of the greens and either the bacon or feta – if you’ve successfully reintroduced dairy, of course. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the feta browns / bacon crisps. Let cool and parcel out generous portions for breakfast.

2 Comments

Filed under AIP, happy things, paleo, recipe

2 responses to “AIP Breakfast Casserole

  1. That looks delicious. I really want to cook more. I feel bad about how much premade crap we eat.

  2. Shannon

    Thanks for sharing this! It looks awesome. I’m on AIP and you’re so right about the amount of cooking being overwhelming at times. The more I can make ahead, the better.

Leave a Reply

