A Year Later: Update on the Inexplicable Skin Rash

It’s been an entire year since I finished the first part of the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol and I feel like it’s time for another update. I started that whole thing because I had an inexplicable skin rash that showed up one November – now two years ago – and started spreading. It didn’t itch, it didn’t flake, it didn’t do anything except spread. When it also didn’t start to fade after a year, I went to the doctor and found out it was inflammation, possibly because of something or other.

Well, duh. I could have told them that. But they couldn’t tell me the cause and when the inexplicable skin rash decided to migrate to a spot right beneath one of my eyes, I decided I had to try something. That something was the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol – hereafter called the AIP – which is a very strict, healing diet and lifestyle. You avoid eggs, nightshades, grains, dairy, nuts, seeds (including seed-derived spices), alcohol, NSAID’s (like Aleve), food additives, and anything else that’s fun, while focusing on eating tons of greens, bone broth, fermented foods (like kefir and sauerkraut) and organ meats and getting enough sleep and exercise. It sucked.

But it worked.

Now, a full year later, my inexplicable skin rash is 99% gone. I can feel a little raised area where the first (and largest and most persistent) patch was, but aside from the biopsy scar (hiss) there is nothing to see. The big red patch on my leg after the egg reintroduction? Gone. The patch on my wrist and the inside of my elbow? Gone. All the little bits and pieces speckling my torso – gone gone gone. I would take a picture, but it would just be a picture of skin.

Not only that, but the AIP took away the big, oozing bumps I used to get on my rear and, although I’ve gotten a few small, irritating ones – exclusively when nightshades crept back into my diet, accidentally or intentionally – I haven’t had to utilize band aids like I used to. I’ve also been able to do sit-ups for the very first time in almost two years, because the inexplicable bump/awfulness at the base of my tail bone is finally healing.

Another big thing: I haven’t had a panic attack in going on three years now, and not even an anxiety attack in the last year. My depression was problematic in the latter half of last year, but during the stricter phase of the AIP it was nonexistent. I’m still figuring out why.

My diet has changed irrevocably, although it’s no longer as strict as the initial AIP introduction – nor should it be. I still eat a big heaping of greens for breakfast every day and make a batch of broth each week. I still mix pureed liver with meatballs and try to get in heart and tendon and tripe when and where I can. My coffee consumption is steady at one cup a day – literally a cup, I measure it – and I mostly drink herbal tea after that.

But I do partake in the occasional dairy – usually full fat milk, very rarely yogurt, more oftentimes amazing cheeses – and I go all out on the seed spices (MUSTARD YES). Although I officially reintroduced nuts ages ago, I eat far less of them than I did when I was just paleo and I actually tend to forget they’re even an option most of the time. I don’t have a problem with rice or oats, so those will sometimes make an appearance, but rarely. I also indulge in alcohol perhaps a little too often and haven’t been as good about saying no to baked goods as I had been in the past – a mental trade-off for having to avoid nightshades and eggs, I think, not that that makes it any better.

Overall, though, I’m glad I did it. I’m amazed at how thoroughly the inexplicable skin rash has vanished and I’m looking forward to the day where I can run my fingers over the place it was and wonder if it even happened.

1 Comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, progress, simply informative

One response to “A Year Later: Update on the Inexplicable Skin Rash

Leave a Reply

