New Year’s Day

january-37

We rang in the new year with snow flurries and a recorded count down. I woke up five hours later and went for a short hike in the foothills to see snow. Lady stayed home in bed, still sick with her cold.

january-32

It was cold and quiet and magical, even if I heard weird snorting/snuffling noises and decided to turn around early. I still got to watch the sky brighten and the mountains come to light.

january-34

I came back and wished Lady a happy New Year and snuggled under blankets and tried to go back to sleep. Then I walked an hour to the only grocery store nearby that was open to get Lady some zinc to help her cold. I didn’t listen to music or an audiobook – I simply was.

january-33

I roused Lady again and we were getting ready to go check on the chickens when my mom called. I answered immediately. She doesn’t call without texting first if it’s not Sunday, our usual chat day, and the last time this happened it was to tell me before Christmas that grandma (her mom) had fallen and was in the hospital. At that time, she had waited until the worst was past and they knew grandma was (relatively) fine (if you ignore the large purple & yellow bruises). A week later and it was Christmas Eve and grandma was out of the hospital and doing better by the day.

This time, she called to tell me grandma had been found unresponsive and they had taken her to the hospital and she was dying.

We’re all a little stunned. She was doing so much better. I just saw her last Sunday. She was awake, smiling, responsive. Now they think she has 3-7 days.

I’ll have more to say when I get the last call and go back out. But for now I’m just so terribly thankful she got to see the whole family for Christmas, even the far flung ones. I know she’s been hanging on for us more than herself since grandpa died, and I know she’s been ready for a while. I don’t know if there could have been a better time than this.

(I turned off comments because I love you guys, but it’s hard for me to receive sympathy right now. Instead, please direct your thoughts and love towards my mother and her siblings.)

Comments Off on New Year’s Day

Filed under simply informative

Comments are closed.