Christmas is Coming

Christmas is coming,
the goose is getting fat,
please put a penny in the old man’s hat.
If you haven’t got a penny,
a ha’penny will do.
If you haven’t got a ha’penny,
then God bless you!

I get this stuck in my head every year around this time – just a week or so out from Christmas. My very British grandmum used to sing it to us, and now it’s taken on a slightly terrified tone as Christmas goes from being several months out to OMG NEXT WEEK.

There is, and can be, no inbetween.

While I scramble to get presents in order and cookies baked (oh yeah, I should post that recipe for egg-free crinkles…), I’m also trying to get mentally ready for January. TTC round two will commence just after Christmas (and that fat goose). I’ve started taking folate again. I’m trying to turn my sporadic 1/week weightlifting back into 2-3/week. I’m reminding myself to breathe and take a moment (or two [or three]) every day to center my thoughts.

I also decided to try out that ovulation microscope. I’m hoping to avoid peeing all over my hand for weeks at a time (god I hate OPKs) by using the microscope to better pinpoint when I’m going to ovulate. This little thing should a) help relieve some stress related to the irregular cycles, b) save on OPK sticks, c) be kind of fun if it works, actually. It’s supposed to show a ferning pattern in your saliva as you near ovulation and give you about a 2-4 day window in which to operate. At that point, you use OPKs to find the surge, then tie it all together by temping and confirming. So not only will I (hopefully) save on OPKs, but I should be able to avoid temping every. single. day. I’m trying it out this (last) cycle to make sure it works, since there are (as always) a small percentage of woman for whom it doesn’t work.

Has anyone else used the microscope? Did you like it? Did you hate it?

Other things to help my sanity in the coming weeks:

– I’m taking a week off from writing, so I won’t hit my 100k word goal by this Friday. I’m so close (94k!) and it was so hard to make that decision, but time is simply too tight and I’m letting myself get too stressed. Also I can’t quite figure out my ending, so hopefully a forced week off will give me time to plan.

– Warm, comfy flannel shirts.

– Fluffy cats.

– Lots and lots and lots of tea. I discovered Trader Joe’s candy cane green tea and it is my absolute new favorite. So good. So pepperminty.

– Breathing. Focusing. Relaxing. Long, cold walks. Remembering that this weekend marks when the sun starts to come back. Finally.

3 Comments

Filed under goals, happy things, TTC

3 responses to “Christmas is Coming

  1. I’ve heard that for some people it works well, others it’s more ambiguous and more error-proned than opks. I hope it works well for you.

  2. The microscope didn’t work for me every month, it did show a partial fern a few times but never a full furniture and it’s very tempermental.

  3. We are going back into the TTC jungle after New Year’s too. We’ve had about 4 months off. I hope that both of us are successful at the beginning of the year and can commiserate over pregnancy symptoms through 2015!!

    I think I might order a microscope too. I hadn’t considered that option yet. And YAY for TJ’s peppermint green tea! So good!

Leave a Reply

