It’s (Officially) Autumn!

When I woke up this morning, the temperature in the apartment was just shy of what our a/c is set at, WHICH MEANS the outside temp had to be significantly cooler. I tested the air out the front door – you know, opening it just enough to stick a hand out and wiggle said hand, but not enough that any neighbors could actually see me – and it felt cool. So I threw open all the windows, tossed back my head, and cackled.

Okay, maybe not the last part so much. But the windows: yes, very.

Ah, but it’s finally autumn here. Some of the trees are even getting confused and changing their leaves. The bike ride to work was actually almost too chilly – 60 degrees sure is brisk when you have a headwind. The clouds disappeared and the humidity dropped from a sweaty 75% to a mere 36%. In another week, we’ll start seeing sparks when we pet the cats.

I fed my pumpkin spice coffee addiction this morning to celebrate. Bruegger’s has a surprisingly good version of it, with just the right blend of cinnamon and other spices without being cloying or having that strange mouthfeel flavored coffee usually has. And this, by the way, is all coming from a verified coffee snob. I wish they sold the beans somewhere, but they probably make more money off of people like me coming in to get my fix drip.

Aah, autumn. Now, of course, this being the desert, it will be back up to 90 degrees by this afternoon, but that doesn’t make the mornings any less grand. Ooh, also the stargazing – now that the clouds are gone (for the rest of the year), we are greeted by a great deal of constellations when we go for our morning walks. The sky is so incredibly clear here – I could wax poetic about that fact alone. I used to think shooting stars were incredibly rare occurrences, then I moved to Arizona.

It’s almost worth the 110+ summers.

10 Comments

Filed under whimsical

10 responses to “It’s (Officially) Autumn!

  1. Funny! I had a big craving today for a latte, and gave in. My second in 45 days or so. It was tasty!

  2. girl4182

    Loved this post!

  3. 33 degrees C (91.4 F) here in Syders yesterday… Summer’s a-comin’!

  4. I don’t know how you can live in that hot of a place!

Leave a Reply

