The Tale of the Gray Pachyderm Fabric

september-17

I found this crib sheet fabric at Goodwill yesterday, while perusing their random section for potential scrap fabric. Our plan is to hand make most, if not all, holiday presents this year because money. Also because I have strong feelings about unconscious consumerism.

I originally was delighted because pachyderms and gray fabric. It would be perfect for so many things! Then I turned it around and half pulled it out of its pouch, wondering if it was a pair of pillowcases or a sheet or what, and saw it was a crib sheet. I almost put it back, because I knew right away I wouldn’t be able to cut it up. I knew if I actually bought it, I would bring it home and tuck it away and break the not-so-unspoken rule between me and my wife that we are not allowed to buy baby things until an actual, certified, verified (& stamped!) baby is on the way.

I took it home anyway, ostensibly to cut it up, but really to tuck it away. I have plans to turn the cover into some small, pachyderm-themed items, but the sheet itself… well, I showed it to Lady and I don’t think she’s about to let me cut it up, either. So at least we’re in agreement.

I feel a little silly. I wasn’t going to do this. I was going to be the strong one and be very good about not buying anything prematurely. But it doesn’t feel like jinxing it, at least.

But that’s it. No more until everything is verified & stamped & confirmed. I mean it this time. Really.

7 Comments

Filed under gaybies

7 responses to “The Tale of the Gray Pachyderm Fabric

  1. Ooh, I know exactly how you feel about finding fabric that speaks to you. And about not meaning to get ahead of yourself acquiring baby things but but but the fabric. I’m glad you and Lady are in agreement on this, ’cause I’m agreeing with you too: that crib sheet is too perfect to cut up! And don’t worry, you will have a little one to sleep on it one day, when the time is right.

  2. I think of it as a little crib sheet of hope. ❤

  3. Ohhh it’s super cute – even the wee carry pouch! I mean elephants! Neutral colours! Never seen here, everything is in pink or blue. Just tuck those elephants away ‘for a rainy day’ 😉

  4. I’m really in to the grey and elephant these days myself.

Leave a Reply

