Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Duck Eggs

august-159

After the sadness that was confirming my sensitivity to regular ol’ chicken eggs, I remembered some snippets of info I had run across during my extensive reading on the AIP that some people, while intolerant of chicken eggs, can, in fact, tolerate the eggs of other fowl beasts. Chicken eggs, for some odd reason, have allergens that are specific to only them, whereas the rest of the feathery kingdom are fine & dandy. Water fowl, specifically, are thought to be the least problematic.

I actually tried out guinea hen eggs about a month ago with no ill effect, but the guy who sold them to us has since disappeared entirely from the farmer’s market. That’s all right, ’cause they are kinda small and expensive, to be honest. Then one fine Sunday we were picking up our meat share when I spotted a “duck eggs $5/doz” sign. Considering in the past I’d only ever seen duck eggs going for $5 a half dozen, this was a steal. So we grabbed them. And I tried them.

I had the first egg two weeks ago now and, as far as I can tell, I haven’t developed any new rashes. I didn’t do as careful an inventory beforehand as I should have, so I’m not 100% sure, but there have been no big, glaring, obvious changes like there were with chicken eggs. I’ve only been having one or two, three times a week (vs the 3/day I’d been doing with chicken eggs), and I’m going to keep it at that rate for another week or two and keep checking for rashes.

My preliminary conclusion, though, is that they’re okay. They bake well and make a delicious breakfast, so double plus. Considering my history of reintroductions, though, I’m going to remain cautious with this. The inexplicable skin rash is so, so sensitive, so if it doesn’t continue on its healing path as it has been doing these past few months, I’ll stop eating duck eggs.

But! I definitely think once the rash is completely gone, duck eggs will be on the menu. Maybe not quite a staple like eggs became, but an occasional breakfast treat.

8 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

8 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Duck Eggs

  1. shawnsorcade

    I’ve always wondered, do they have a distinct taste? Or do they just taste like chicken eggs?

  2. Duck eggs are usually bigger too, right? I usually eat two chicken eggs in one sitting, I wonder if I could just eat one duck egg? I’ve always wanted to try them, just out of curiosity.

  3. Huh, I had never heard of eating duck eggs before this. I hope they continue to work for you!

  4. Yum! Have been told I may not reintroduce eggs (of any kind) for another while yet. (sigh) I miss eggs. Is it possible to be both happy for you and jealous at the same time? Think I am.

  5. Benni

    Yay! I hope they continue to work well for you. They sound really tasty, too.

Leave a Reply

