Piece by Piece

I haven’t really been posting about the cakes I’ve been making for cake month, because one I’d made last year (see: almond cake) and the other was a plain white cake that really needed some work. It tasted fine, but was just too dense.

But this weekend I tweaked that white cake recipe from last week, added figs, and slathered the resulting cupcakes with mascarpone frosting. When I have a chance, I will totally share the recipe. I’m pleased with the way the cake came out this time and will definitely use that (tweaked) recipe for future fluffy white cakes.

I feel like I’m slowly pulling myself back together, piece by tiny piece. I forced my wife and a friend to wake up early and go on a strenuous hike Saturday morning. I needed that. But I also feel like I need a strenuous hike every morning right now, which I can’t exactly get. So I’ve been running instead. It’s a start.

 

Other (small) achievements, today vs Friday (and most of last week, tbh): today I was not consumed with rage when my coworker stood up, sat down, and stood up again; today I did not cry when someone asked me how I was; today I was able to concentrate and do this thing called work; today I positively interacted with coworkers; today I was not filled with a nameless dread at the thought of staying at work all day; today I wrote; today I looked people in the face and sometimes even managed a smile.

4 Comments

Filed under depression

4 responses to “Piece by Piece

  1. I’m glad you’re doing better. You should totally do as much physical activity as you need to do. I’ve gotten back into running and it’s great for my mood. Also, those cupcakes look great!

  2. Benni

    Glad to hear you’re feeling a bit better! Also, those cupcakes and that view both look amazing.

  3. Fat Girl Dancing

    ❤ All good steps!

  4. I am glad yesterday was better and I am hoping today was better too. The cupcakes look like they are out of a magazine – and I love the picture from hiking!

Leave a Reply

