Patience is a Virtue: the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol

After I finished the 30-day super strict autoimmune protocol back in January, I wrote a somewhat lackluster recap & review of my experience. I noted at the time that some of my lack of results might be turned around over the coming months as I continued to (mostly) adhere to the diet and take extra special care of myself.

Now that it’s been over six months, I feel like I should amend my review.

The paleo autoimmune protocol is fucking amazing and magical.

I didn’t have the results I wanted after 30 days because it took a helluva lot more than 30 days to get the issues I have in the first place. Now that it’s been a wee bit longer, all of my skin issues are so much better. I could sing!

The tomatoes were a very strong reminder of just how far I’ve come. I mentioned they gave me a boil. One boil. A single one. Uno. Eins. Unum. Raz. And it was tiny, so tiny.

This is a big deal because before the AIP, I would have constantly two to three, and was dealing with up to five of these godawful things at a time. This recent one was a wee bit painful when I biked, but those old fuckers made it impossible to sit and I often had to plaster them with bandaids because they oozed. They got so bad that it was painful just to walk. When I first started getting them, I went to the doctor – as you do, right? But instead of getting any idea of wtf they were or how to deal with them, she chastised me for not being hygienic. That stuck with me for so long that when I went to the dermatologist for my inexplicable skin rash, I went out of my way to avoid mentioning the boils.

Not that the derm helped with the rash, anyway.

So these last six months, aside from one or three flairs, I’ve been boil free and it’s been wonderful. So good that I forgot how uncomfortable those little fuckers could be, in fact. If it means I can’t ever have salsa or hot sauce again, it’s a difficult deal, but I’ll take it.

But it’s the inexplicable skin rash that started me down this journey and the inexplicable skin rash that bummed me out the most at the end of January. I’ve updated on that rash since then, that it looked like it was improving, albeit slowly, but now I can confidently say that it is almost gone. The bit on my wrist that was flared for so long is now nothing but a small set of bumps I can only tell are there when I run my finger over them. The larger patch on my waist is now mostly just the biopsy scar and a small bump or two.

It looks so much better, guys. Even the dime-sized circle on my leg that I got with my last round of egg-trying has reduced itself to a teensy pinkish spot instead of the flaking red nastiness it had been. Another large, egg-sized spot on my leg that had been nasty and raised and ugly is completely vanished. I’m left with a few small rashes speckling my torso, but even those are slowly fading. I bet they’re all gone by November.

This weekend I even had a nasty flare across my stomach that had me in tears (one of many things…), but it’s all but gone already. Apparently, the faster I get back on track when they show up, the faster they go away. That helps explain why the original few have stuck around for so very long – I didn’t even see a doctor about them for over a year. But they’re healing. Slowly, oh so slowly, but they’re healing.

A few things I’ve noticed that seem to help them heal faster: being militant about drinking broth with gelatin. Not only do any cat scratches I might have received disappear quicker, but the rashes smooth out in leaps and bounds instead of plodding along, barely changing for weeks. The key thing seems to be gelatin; I’ve been drinking broth religiously since January, but it’s often chicken broth and it usually doesn’t gel on its own. But if I add a teaspoon of gelatin, suddenly I see those improvements in my skin almost right away. I wouldn’t have to add gelatin if I made proper bone broth all the time, but I’ve learned I don’t like the taste of bone broth and will avoid drinking it. So what’s the point of making it when I won’t drink it?

The other thing: extra coconut oil, often in the form of coconut fudge. I started making and eating these to help alleviate some of my intense hunger in the mornings – which has been working amazing btw – and as a bonus, I noticed my skin clearing up faster at the same time. I have no idea why, but I’ll take any excuse to keep eating these. They’re just that good.

This is all to say that if you’re in the middle of doing the Autoimmune Protocol and you haven’t seen the results you wanted yet, don’t lose hope. This shit takes time. Unfortunately, sometimes it takes a lot of time. But if you’ve stuck with it this far, it’s really fucking worth it to keep going. Even for people like me who don’t have a really bad condition, or one that’s been around for years and years, it can still take a while. It sucks, but it is definitely worth the relief and knowledge in the end.

I will still stick to my guns about only starting the AIP if you are really and completely convinced it could help, though. It is not a fun endeavor, and once you start you can’t really stop. Well, you can, but it’s a waste of your time. You have to keep going, you have to keep plugging on, and if you do – it is really fucking worth it.

3 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

3 responses to “Patience is a Virtue: the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol

  1. I started paleo for the same reason; I am only on day 9. I have not given up nightshades yet, but I think I may have to. I also started taking Tumeric, AZO for yeast and zinc. The only relief I have is I am taking less ibuprofen for the pain. God, help me I need some relief…

  2. SoA – you have no idea how much your comment about being told you are ‘unhygenic’ resonates (aside from the fact that the opposite is likely true. We are TOO DAMN CLEAN!) As a fellow HS sufferer, I totally get it.

    Great post. X

    • Omg, I’m so glad I’m not the only one. Also re: the TOO DAMN CLEAN – RIGHT!?? I’ve tried to convert my coworkers to the anti-Lysol party, but it’s an uphill battle. Way too many people can’t fathom bacteria and other microbes as anything but pathogenic, which is super unfortunate. I love my microbiome. ❤

Leave a Reply

