Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Tomatoes

july-78

I’ve finally started the process of sussing out exactly which, if any, nightshades I might tolerate. Since we have a super abundant tomato plant in our garden, it seemed most reasonable to start with tomatoes. Not only could I add a few fresh tomatoes to my salads, but I could smother a gf pizza with homemade tomato sauce and enjoy.

First, these are fresh, local, organic, etc etc tomatoes, so if I’m going to have an issue with them, I’m going to have an issue with all tomatoes. That’s always a good place to start.

Second, I have steered clear of all nightshades the last few weeks and the boils I get had completely cleared up. For this experiment, I continued to steer clear of all other nightshades, including that sneaky, pesky paprika. I could go on at length about how much I have come to loathe paprika, or at least the way it pops up in the most random of places, but I’ll leave that for another day.

So, the test. The Sunday before last I made a pizza at home using all our own ingredients to limit a potential sneak attack by paprika (*shakes fist*). On Monday and Tuesday I included at least one whole, sliced tomato in my lunch salad. Then I sat back and waited.

In the past with nightshades, I’ve noticed a reaction about a week later, usually in the form of painful boils in uncomfortable places. So I thought I would have a whole week to wait before anything showed up.

Not so. By Thursday of that same week – four days from the first tomato – I already had a nasty little boil. Thankfully, just the one, but it has made biking to work uncomfortable, even almost a full week later. I think it decided to erupt on top of a nerve, which certainly hasn’t helped.

So, that’s fairly definitive. I haven’t had any boils for going on almost two months (that was the last time I had all the nightshades), but within a week of eating tomatoes I get one. I think I might still duplicate this experiment with tomatoes, just to be abso-fucking-lutely certain – but I’m already fairly convinced that in addition to having a sensitivity to eggs, I am also sensitive to tomatoes.

But! On the positive side, three servings of tomatoes only resulted in one kinda painful boil, instead of, say, the full on eruption and agony I have had in the past. So although I will mostly steer clear of tomatoes, at least I know what to expect if I slip up or indulge. It still sucks because I fucking love salsa and pizza and tacos, but I can survive.

Next on my list – probably this weekend, if this boil is completely gone by then – will be paprika, because seriously. You can’t even find hot dogs that don’t have paprika. Mustard! Has! Paprika! And don’t get me started on the number of pre-made foods that simply list “spices.” If I ever find them, I will punch – in the face – whoever allowed producers to get away without listing all those damn spices on the ingredients.

4 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

4 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Tomatoes

  1. Did you give the nightshades up sort one at a time? I have not gotten any new breakouts in the last week but the ones I have just WILL NOT go away. My left armpit is in terrible shape. I had a dead tissue removal done and 30 day course of amox but still no relief. 8 days on paleo no relief. 8 days on Tumeric and zinc taking less ibuprofen, but still in pain. (less swelling) Not sure what my trigger was I had been 4 years free until this April and now they just won’t go away. Not sure if I do paleo for 30 days and see if I have relief then remove nightshades for 30 days. I am at a loss here at how fast this stuff is supposed to work. I am so glad I found you on here!

    • I actually gave up all nightshades for 30 days and have only just gotten around to trying them one at a time. If you’ve removed the problem food and are taking sufficient care of yourself, you should see some sort of improvement fairly quickly, even if it’s only a little. My skin issues all improved after two weeks, although they have taken longer than six months to fully heal. If it’s really painful, I would suggest doing the full autoimmune protocol for 30 days just to get it under control.
      I’ve read that skin issues are the most difficult to heal, because your body puts skin at a very low priority compared to, say, healing veins or fixing joints. Only when everything else is ship-shape, so to speak, does your body deign to heal your skin. Skin is often the first sign of something wrong and the very last thing to heal.
      Also, how old are you? It’s fairly common to develop new food sensitivities in one’s twenties, and stress and lack of sleep can only exacerbate the problem. Of course I’m only wildly guessing because I don’t know your situation, but it’s a place to start.

      • I am 37 and I have hs. I have not had an outbreak for 4 years since I moved from WV to TX. I have had a bad outbreak this year that just will not clear up. After going 4 years, I don’ think changing my diet will be the answer but I am willing to try anything.

Leave a Reply

