A Little More About Us

Considering we just got married for a second time, I figure it’s about time I wrote down our “how we met” story. You know there’re two of us, we’re ladies, we have cats, are trying to create another human, and we live in the desert. You know a bit about me – that I am nutritionally obsessed, like to lift weights, fancy myself a writer, and occasionally freak out about TTC. But you don’t really know anything about her or, for that matter, us.

We met in a wee liberal arts college on the coast of Florida. We were friends of friends, first, she a year older (and wiser) and me a wide-eyed, freshly uncloseted first year. She told me that the first time she actually noticed me was when I tromped into the PRIDE club wearing a kilt. I can’t remember when I first noticed her, just that she hung around the friends I made and in that manner also became a friend.

She was into science, was mostly quiet and shy. I pegged her as ordinary until I realized she had a sick sense of humor. I, on the other hand, was into Latin and partying most of the night and experiencing as many new things as possible. But I also really liked sitting alone by the bay at 2am.

My second year – her third year – when I moved in with one of her friends, we began hanging out more. Shenanigans happened. Cuddling happened. I flirted with her, but in fun – she had a fiancé after all. She was untouchable. But then she confided in me that she was seriously thinking of breaking up with her fiancé, because there was someone else she liked more. Then she told me to meet her down by the bay that evening so she could talk more about it, tell me who it was.

Sneaky, sneaky.

We met and it was too windy to talk, so we hid in the shelter of a nearby building. It was chilly – November in Florida can be that way – and we huddled together for warmth while she told me that she had liked me for a while. I didn’t know what to say, because I’d had no inkling until that very morning, and therefore no framework around which to build any feelings aside from friendship. But I thought I could give it a try.

And I did. And we did. And here we are. 🙂

Actually, it wasn’t nearly that smooth, but that story is for another day. Suffice to say, a year later I knew I’d stay with her as long as I could. We moved to Seattle after graduation, then to Arizona so she could get her doctorate in microbiology. Eight years later I now know she’s really not that quiet and shy, just an introvert like me. We just express our introversion differently.

2 Comments

Filed under marriage, simply informative

2 responses to “A Little More About Us

  1. Fat Girl Dancing

    YOU GUYS. ;_; YOU ARE JUST THE BEST. ❤

  2. Such a cool story. You two look very much in love with each other. I’ve been with my girlfriend for 18 years, and we’ll be getting married soon.

Leave a Reply

