Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Corn (Tortilla)

I know last reintro post I said I was going to do tomatoes next, but that had been passed on my wrong assumption that our garden tomatoes were already ripe. Alas, they are green as can be, while our zucchini are already monsters. You can check out those crazy huge zucchini over at my wife’s blog.

Instead I decided to try corn, since I’ve been wanting to stop with the cabbage leaf tacos and have some real tacos for once. Well, real minus the nightshade everything. So not truly real, but I can pretend. Right?

I made sure the ingredients were mostly simple and clean and – most importantly – that the corn had been treated with lime, a process called nixtamalization. This makes the corn way more nutritious and things like B3, calcium, and protein more bioavailable by severely reducing the phytic acid, an antinutrient that blocks the absorption of more beneficial nutrients. It also reduces mycotoxin, which is a nasty byproduct of mold that shows up in all sorts of grains and legumes in small, but still potentially irritating, quantities.

Basically, if I’m going to be able to eat corn, then nixtamalized corn will be the most likely candidate.

So I felt pretty confident grabbing a corn tortilla and loading it up with chunks of meatballs and a wee bit of brie. I ate it, then was still hungry and ate another. Surely corn was going to be fine for me. I used to eat tons of corn tortillas back in the day.

Not so much.

Within thirty minutes, I felt like I’d eaten a brick. Within an hour, I was severely sick to my stomach, so much that I wished I didn’t have such an iron stomach and could actually throw up. We had to walk to the farmer’s market at that point to pick up our meat CSA and meet a friend, and every bit of the way was just awful. It didn’t clear up until early afternoon, and even then I didn’t have much of an appetite.

It was as bad, if not worse, than when I had the egg yolks. I’m more than a bit surprised by how bad my reaction was, because I was convinced it would be an easy peasy reintroduction. Well, that’s what I get for not being careful. I was going to be incredibly slow and careful with the tomatoes, but I should have remembered to do the same here. You’d think I would have learned my lesson by now about unexpected reactions what with yolks & chocolate. Alas, sometimes I am not smart.

So no corn, at least for now. I’ll be curious to see if it effects my skin problems over the rest of the week. If it doesn’t, then I may occasionally allow myself small bits of corn, knowing that I won’t feel well for a little while afterwards. But if it does, then it goes on my strict avoidance list.

In the meantime, I’ll be watching our tomatoes and willing them to ripen.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

Leave a Reply

