Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Almonds

This whole process feels like two steps forward, one step back. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: it’s frustrating. But ultimately worth it. Right?

I call my mother every week and have been doing so since college, which happens to coincide with the same period we’ve been living in different states. Towards the end of the initial 30 days period, I told my mother about the AIP and that I was doing it, and ever since then she asks me weekly how it’s going and what new things I can eat.

I’ve come to notice with my weekly talks that I feel more and more like a broken record each time I answer those questions. What have I added back successfully? Oh, butter, seed spices, and… um… yeah. But hopefully (insert other food item) soon! Rinse, repeat. Every week I feel a little more lost and a little less hopeful. I’ll get out of this dietary maze someday, yes?

So nightshade spices and coffee are both on probation. I had a seriously awful resurgence of HS in the last three weeks, so much so that sitting on Friday was excruciating and I’ve been doing everything I can not to sit or put pressure on my butt since then. I’ve had three individual flares over those three weeks, first on my upper back, then on the side of my thigh, and finally right on my rear.

It’s no good and something I’ve been eating through all that time has to be causing this resurgence. I thought the first two might have been hormones, and then the second two might have been coffee, but didn’t really look at the time frame until these last two. I don’t actually suspect coffee, because of that time frame, but since the worst happened under coffee’s reintroduction, I’m being extra cautious.

If nothing else, this resurgence has taught me that something is causing these flares. I’d almost forgotten how bad the boils could be, how very painful, until now. Which means the AIP was working.

My guess is that the culprit were the nightshade spices, and that they cause a reaction cumulatively and after a few days. I’m going to cut both them and coffee out completely for a few weeks to let myself heal and also confirm it isn’t something else causing it.

In the meantime, I wasn’t going to introduce anything new, but broke down and made almond flour flatbread last week. Then I declared that my reintroduction for the week and made some more flatbread the next day. It was so good and as far as I can tell, hasn’t done anything to me. I haven’t tried almonds on their own yet, but since I was using the Trader Joe’s almond flour, which is ground whole, raw almonds, I don’t expect there would be a difference.

This week I am bringing in organic yogurt. I really need to make sure I’m getting enough calcium now that we’re firmly TTC-ing, and I never had a problem with dairy in the past. I would have had grass fed yogurt, but apparently that is more like a mythical unicorn for what success I’ve had in finding it in our area. I also want to see if extra probiotics would be helpful, since the only other probiotic I’ve been eating is the sauerkraut we make at home.

Here’s to hopefully being able to tell my mother next weekend that I can eat something besides butter and seed spices. 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

4 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Almonds

  1. I feel for you. Just had my first HS flare since commencing AIP – I think it may have been the ghee. SO disappointed.

  2. Fat Girl Dancing

    That almond flatbread was really good. You should post the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

