Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Nightshade Spices

Whew, it’s been a while. I took some time to recoup and get back to my baseline after the cocoa flare up. I’ve had some more time to think about it, and still came to pretty much the same conclusion: either I way overindulged or my body was just having a bad week. Either way, I still intend to try again with chocolate – maybe seek out something higher quality or, like someone suggested, raw.

I had thought having a ton like I used to couldn’t have been that bad of an idea, but since then I’ve put a little more research into allergies and responses and realized I was possibly an idiot. I haven’t been able to find anything that explains it to my satisfaction scientifically, so I’ll hold off on explaining my newfound understanding of food sensitivities until I can do it appropriately. Or get my biologist wife to explain it to me.

So back to baseline. I was feeling pretty good and normal again by last Friday so I decided to go ahead with my next reintroduction, nightshade spices. I can’t tell you how often I’ve been offered food or salivated over a recipe these past two months only to find out there was paprika in it. Seriously. People put paprika in everything.

I started with spicy sausage Friday morning and had another religious moment like I had with mustard. OMG. I looove spicy food and Mexican is my absolute favorite. I had recently acquired a bottle of Tajin before the AIP and had been putting it on everything. Sweet potatoes, avocados, meat, eggs, etc. It’s just salt, dehydrated lime juice, and ground chili peppers.

Needless to say, I sprinkled that on everything over the weekend. But I was careful not to go overboard this time. A dash here or there, and usually just one meal a day. It was delicious, but not overwhelming.

I kept a paranoid eye on my body all week long, but nothing seems to have changed. My rash is looking better than ever and no new ones have popped up like they did the Week of the Cocoa. The hardest thing I’ve found in the reintroduction is being absolutely sure of a reintroduced food, even when there aren’t any obvious flairs. But I think it’s safe to say nightshade spices are not a problem for me. I slept way better than I had the previous two weeks, so maybe they’re even good for me. 🙂

Now, hopefully that means whole nightshades will also be okay. I’m really looking forward to chili and Mexican again. But I’m going to space out my nightshades just to be sure, so that won’t happen until next week.

Instead, this week I’m trying something I’m almost 100% certain is safe: coffee. I’ve been drinking coffee since middle school and had actually tempered my intake before the AIP from two-three cups a day down to one. I’ve gone off coffee twice before now and had no problems when I reintroduced it then, aside from some jitteriness when I brought too much back too fast.

I’ve been hesitant to reintroduce coffee because I’ve been doing so well with my pot of tea every morning. It’s become a refreshing morning ritual and I can’t quite get that out of a cup of coffee. I’m also hesitant because I don’t want to become re-addicted. Caffeine withdrawal is a beast. But I do want to be able to have a little every once in a while or share a frou-frou drink with my wife.

Plus, the past few weekends I’ve been sniffing her coffee and craving just a sip.

I’m going to be very careful with this reintroduction. Just a little bit once in the morning. We have a full set of espresso cups, which are the perfect size for that little bit of coffee.

If all goes well, I might start dreaming about tiramisu again. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo, reintroduction

3 responses to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol Reintroduction | Nightshade Spices

  1. Caffeine withdrawal is brutal.

    • It is! I would really not go through with it again and contemplating that tightrope walk to keep from becoming addicted to caffeine has made me realize just how powerful a drug it is.

  2. Yay, SoA! So pleased your reintroduction to (some) nightshades has been a success. I have a sneaky suspicion this will be a problem area for me and I’m dreading it already. Happy for you… FLAVOUR!!!

Leave a Reply

