Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 28

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

If I hadn’t indulged in New Year’s Eve bubbly, then this would have been my last day. But considering we pre-make (almost) all our food every Sunday, it’s actually pretty easy to just keep going with the flow and continue eating this way up until Egg Yolk Friday, as I’ve decided to now call it.

Wot I ate:
– Sautéed greens, sweet potato hash, and meatballs for breakfast
– A banana, clementines, and broth with gelatin for snacks
– Chicken “pad thai” for lunch
– Afternoon grapefruit
– Seared tuna steaks with an AIP version of this dressing and half an avocado on salad
– Magnesium, dried cherries, and folate for dessert

I thought I’d be more excited by the time I got to the end of this, but mostly I’m just tired and done. All the improvements I saw were within the first week and a half, and I’m keeping on going at this point more out of an illogical hope that suddenly more things will clear up than anything. Also inertia. One can get used to eating any random or severely restricted way if one just gives it 30 days. You putter around for the first two weeks wondering what you can eat, then settle into a routine. That happened on my first Whole30, when I went vegetarian, and again now. So any time I wonder how any specific person can “eat that way,” I just have to remember that you can get used to anything.

I’m also surprised that for reintroduction, I’m perfectly okay with putting off coffee for a few more weeks. I’d rather have more food variety than caffeine, thankyouverymuch. Same thing with alcohol – still on the fence about whether I’ll introduce that for my wife’s exam, or if I’ll just let that one slide.

Just two more days? Just two more days.

Then it’s Egg Yolk Friday!

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

