Paleo Autoimmune Procol, Day 26 (Last Weekly Cook-up)

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

january-57

It’s Sunday, so that means it’s the weekly cook-up! This is my last full AIP cook-up, and damn am I glad. I feel like I keep making the same thing over and over again – chicken and beef with garlic and more garlic. I am looking forward to reintroducing spices! Granted – that won’t be for a few weeks yet. Still, I’ve got my eye on proper Mexican seasoning.

This week, I’m also being a little more creative. We made:

– Thyme and oregano braised lamb sirloin with garlic and basil spaghetti squash
– Beef soup with greens, broccoli, and carrots
– Sweet potato hash
– Stir-fried broccoli
– Italian pork meatballs with (hidden) liver
Chicken “Pad Thai” (more like Asian-inspired chicken salad, if we’re being honest)
Garlic Balsamic Grilled Pan-Seared Butternut Squash
– Roasted turnips and carrots

To go with that, we also have greens to saute, a salad mix, two tuna steaks, and green beans. These will get may up during and throughout the week.

Wot I ate (in between all the cooking):
– Broth with gelatin and a hunk of cherry pot roast for breakfast
– Black tea
– Dried mangoes and salmon with avocado and bacon on cucumbers for lunch
– More black tea
– Aaand another pot of tea
– Chicken “pad thai” & a kiwi for second lunch / early dinner
– Beef soup for actual dinner
– More mangoes

I’m going to have to have a mango moratorium once this thing is through. They’re my only treat, so I go a bit overboard. But of course, one can have too much of any good thing.

Pictured at the top is my second favorite thing: salmon and avocado and bacon on a slice of cucumber. So good. So surprisingly filling. And so wonderfully AIP-tastic.

I think I have my reintroduction schedule down pat, but I’m going to give it another day before sharing in case I want to change anything. Because obviously, once it’s shared, I can never unshare. This is the internet after all – very serious business.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

