Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 25

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

january-56

I finally got the fisheye I’ve been dreaming of for the last three years! We’re hitting up the Grand Canyon in a few months so I used that as an excuse to make the purchase. It’s a lovely lens, perfect for getting that awkward chicken stare just right.

Saturday was a busy, beautiful mess. Here’s wot I ate:
– A mug of broth + gelatin and a banana pre-workout
– Sauteed ground beef and whole mushrooms with sweet potato hash for breakfast
– Black tea
– Coconut cream over blackberries with a drizzle of honey for snack 🙂
– Cherry pot roast over cauliflower rice for lunch
– Too many dried cherries for snack
– A salad with artichoke hearts, mushrooms, radishes, shrimp, and apples from Chopped for dinner, which is pretty much the only restaurant I can eat at right now
– Leftover green chicken and bacon for dessert

This was the first time we’d eaten out – or rather, didn’t eat homemade food – since December. From what’s available locally, I realized I could only eat two places – one a smoothie shop and the other a salad bar. With all the extra fruit I’ve been eating, I could never justify a fruit smoothie, but after a long day corralling chickens, cleaning the office, and doing chores, we thought it was time to finally cave. We even still had food in the house – but there’s only so much dull, garlicky chicken one can take.

It was worth it. I definitely miss the flexibility that comes with eating out. On the AIP, I have to constantly be aware of food – how much we have at home, what we need to make, what I can take with me. If I’m caught out with too little, too late, I simply have to go without. Not that that’s always terrible – and one of the awesome things about paleo is I can easily go five+ hours without food – but one of my prerequisites for doing the AIP was not to feel deprived. Well. Within the restraints, of course. So I try to always have food on hand.

Another thing I tried to do was not lose weight, at least not purposefully. As I’ve mentioned, I’m fine with the weight I’m at. But it looks like I lost five pounds anyway, some of which may have been due to my illness earlier in the month. I’ll have an official tally on my last day, just for the sake of numbers.

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

