Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 24

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Wot I ate:
– Black tea
– Sautéed greens, sweet potato hash, meatballs, and broth for breakfast
– A grapefruit for snack (breakfast was really big)
– Curry chicken over cauliflower and coconut cream with blackberries for lunch
– More black tea
– Sauteed arugula and canned salmon with coconut aminos and lime juice for dinner
– Mangoes mangoes mangoes!

The rash on my wrist appears to be actually fading. It kept flaring and fading and flaring, but half of it is definitely almost fully gone. After having given up all hope on the visible skin rash healing, too. The other skin issues are doing fine. Even the scars are starting to fade from the boils, although I doubt they’ll ever be fully gone. They were pretty intense. Like my stretch marks back from when I gained all the weight. They’re reminders to take good care of my body.

I have to admit, I’m a little afraid of reintroduction. I know that the only way to find out what I have a problem with is to try it and see the problem reappear, but I really, really don’t want some of these things to come back. It’s so, so nice having clear skin in a place I’d given up ever having clear skin again. It’s like when you lose weight for the first time, and you develop this terror of ever gaining it back. Except the whole purpose of reintroduction is to make it come back.

I know it’s necessary, but I’m not sure if I’m ready. Am I developing Stockholm Syndrome with the AIP? I can’t eat like this forever – that would be insane. I need spice in my life – and eggs. I know that’s always why you reintroduce the least likely foods first, so you can ease back if you need more time.

I’m also trying to decide on how exactly to proceed with the reintroduction. Some people advocate eating something three times for one day, then waiting a few days to see how it manifests. Others advocate once per day for three days, then waiting a week. The problem is that some reactions are instantaneous – an upset stomach later that day, or bloating the next – while others are accumulative – like panic attacks after a few weeks of consistently eating something. I’ve had both reactions in the past to things I know are a problem (*cough*gluten*cough*), so I don’t know which way to go. Playing it by ear may be the safest bet.

I hope to have a game plan by the end of this weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

One response to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 24

  1. I know that I was like that after I did a month gluten/dairy free. But reintroduction went horribly, so… yeah, that was 2005, still don’t eat gluten/dairy.

Leave a Reply

