Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 23

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

Wot I ate:
– A banana post-workout
– Lots of greens, sweet potato hash, meatballs & broth with gelatin for breakfast
– An apple & coconut cream over blackberries for snacks
– Curry chicken over cauliflower rice with an avocado for lunch
– Dried mangoes for pre-dinner
– Burger with sauteed greens and bacon for dinner
– Magnesium

Seems like we made more than enough food for the week. We’re still going strong and only made burgers for dinner on two occasions. More like one, since we cooked them all last night, so tonight was technically leftovers.

And for celebrating: we finally have sugar free bacon again! We special order ours from a local butcher and it is the most delish thing ever. Super salty. Since we have to special order it, we have to buy an entire slab at a time, which we stick in the freezer and subsist off of for months and months. Just my luck, we happened to run out at the beginning of January. I have been bacon free for three weeks, but that ended today. Bacon just makes everything so much more delicious. It’s like the king of spices – and I try to use it as such. A little goes a long, long way.

I also lifted two days in a row, which I know I’m going to regret tomorrow. I’m finally back to using the magnesium for that purpose – staving off soreness – instead of for constipation. It looks like my guts are back in order. Either it was the kombucha or going AIP really was a bigger diet change than I was giving it credit.

I’m starting to research the reintroduction phase more. Or, at least, what recipes I’d like to make first. Paleo pumpkin pancakes (sans egg whites), please. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

Leave a Reply

