Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 21

For the month of January I’m following the paleo Autoimmune Protocol (AIP). It’s like a Whole30 – just minus eggs, nightshades, seeds & nuts. It’s a little insane, but the only way to truly find out if a skin issue I have is autoimmune in nature or not. For more information, see my preparation post.

The days are just flying by without nary a thought towards diet and what I can’t have now. Well. For the most part. But it’s not much longer until Reintroduction begins. I better start thinking about it beyond just starting with egg yolks.

Wot I ate today:
– Tea
– Broth + gelatin post run
– Lots of greens and some meatballs for breakfast, plus more broth
– Kiwis, coconut cream over blackberries, and lox with avocado on cucumber slices for snacks
– Chicken curry over cauliflower rice and an avocado for lunch
– Cherry pot roast over cauliflower rice for dinner
– Mango slices & magnesium for dessert

The run this morning only confirmed my feelings about cardio from yesterday’s hike. It went really well and I haven’t even run since New Year’s. I feel like my body is back, although how much of that is finally being over that illness and how much of is diet, I can only guess. But the running felt more effortless than it had been in the month before, so there’s that.

Also those meatballs are a certified win. You might remember from my Sunday cooking post that I added pureed beef liver to the mix to see if it would mask the flavor. Mask it, it does, and well. If I hadn’t added the liver and stirred it in by hand myself, I wouldn’t believe it. Next week I’ll try upping the ratio of liver to beef. This time it was 3oz to two pounds. I bet I could get away with 3oz to 1.5 or even 1 pound. We shall see!

1 Comment

Filed under AIP, diet, paleo

One response to “Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, Day 21

  1. jesuislaprof

    The lox with avocado and cucumber just sounds amazing. Definitely going to keep that as a snack when I re-start the 21dsd!

Leave a Reply

